Grandpa Ford Says…..

Oh, the things my grandpa taught me. In the seven years I knew him (he was actually my husband’s grandpa) he taught me a lot of things about a lot of stuff. But mostly about quilting. Some of the stuff may not have been the “right” way to do it, but it sure worked for him. He didn’t need fancy marking pens, a mechanical pencil worked just fine. He didn’t back stitch any of his seams, we were just going to sew over them again anyway. So I thought why not spread the wealth of knowledge. So, randomly, I will post some of his “rules” for quilting. Just for fun……

So Grandpa Ford says, “You match colors by sewing them together.” Does it matter if one is a solid dark green and the other is a light green print? Absolutely not…..green is green is green. (True story, I wish I had a picture!)

Comments

  1. Oh Angela,
    What a great man he was! I only knew him briefly and what an impression he made. He lives in you, I see it in your quilting, your smile, your outlook on life and your spirit.
    I love you both.
    Kathy

  2. Hmmmm. Sounds like one of my 91 year old mother’s design rules, “If I put it together, it goes together.”

  3. Jane~ that is the best way to sum it up! Sounds like a good rule to me.

  4. I love that advice. Sometimes just a few words can be so liberating.

Leave a Reply

