Hot off the rack…..

The newest offering from my quilting machine is finished. It is an adorable sample quilt for Country Expressions Quilt Shoppe

I loved putting my own special touches on this quilt

A waft of steam rises from the cup of coffee (or is it tea?) that sits on a quilted table cloth. It makes me want to sit awhile and look at all the different types of fabric in the quilt. I do have to say that this was a stretch for me. I, personally, don’t like to leave any area unquilted. But in this case, I made an exception. I guess rules are made to be broken

In the outer border, butterflies dance around a quilting design that also moves to and fro.

In between the delicate teacups, freehand scrolls move up and down the blocks.

And of course the back of the quilt, my favorite. As I quilt along, on any quilt I do, I imagine what I want the finished product to look like. The best part of the whole process is taking the quilt off the rack and laying it out upside down. It is at that moment that I find out if the quilt turns out how I pictured it would. Sometimes it does look exactly like I imagine, and that makes me so happy. But once in awhile, I turn over the quilt to find a design that isn’t what I imagined it to be, it’s so much better. That’s how I felt about this quilt. Such a great example of fabric, piecing and quilting working together to produce something so pretty.

You also may notice how you can actually see the quilting, as opposed to other pictures on my blog. That is because the wonderful Miss Shea photographed my quilting. And I have to say, she did an amazing job. It has been said that a picture is worth a thousand words, but the only thing I could think of when I saw them was, “WOW”. Quilting is hard to photograph and she was able to capture it perfectly. Thanks Shea!!!

Comments

  1. Whitney Wilson says:

    Love the pics…shea did a great job at the pics!!! I can see your work great and it looks fantastic.

  2. You do a wonderful job! FANTASTIC! I have this secret love for the quilting on a quilt. I love the fabric and the putting together of the quilt top but the finished product makes such a stand out. GOOD WORK! http://www.sewsweetquiltshop.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

