Fresh off the rack~ Helen’s Quilt

This quilt is like a newspaper, black and white and “read” all over….get it?….ok, maybe that’s not so funny. I guess I won’t give up my quilting job to become a comedian 🙂

This quilt was pretty fun to quilt. She likes the quilting to not be too dense so I opted for an all-over design in the center and in the border. I also included my favorite little triangle feathers in the inner area. To me, this is a great example of semi-custom quilting. It isn’t quilted all over from edge to edge, instead, I highlighted the areas that I wanted to “pop” out did the all-over design in the areas that the quilting wouldn’t be really visible. It doesn’t take a lot longer to do semi-custom quilting but the effect is a lot more.

This quilt gave me a few scares! Whoever designed this fabric was not a Longarm quilter:

So this is the stem of a flower with some little “thorn” looking things. Not a big deal. But as I would advance the quilt, the backing would show. So sometimes, I would see this out of the corner of my eye:

It kept looking like the stitches were messing up. But then I would realize that it was just the design. One would think that I would realize after the first hundred times, but it kept tricking me.

By the way, sorry about the blurry pictures. I have been lobbying for a new camera from my husband……Mother’s Day is coming up…..

Comments

  1. wow what a wonderful quilt, black and white, never tried, im sure I would put one of my quilts to you to quilt, if you wouldnt be so far away, bad thing

    Hugs Cornelia

  2. Kelly Harris says:

    hope jeremy reads your blog 🙂 come on, get her a camera!!!! oh, and i love your joke….you are just hilarious, Ang!!

Leave a Reply

