I now present……..The Cartwheel Quilt

Once upon a time, I was given a dream quilt. A quilt with a bunch of white space. I was told to do as I wish. I could see it in my head, exactly how I wanted it to look. I obsessed over all aspects of the quilting. I slaved over it like it was my own. I showed you a little of my process here. Then the most wonderful thing happened….It turned out exactly like I dreamed that it would. This is the Cartwheel quilt from Tula Pink:

I am so proud of it I could just burst. Thanks to Tula for letting me have my way with it.

This was truly a labor of love. It took over 30 hours to complete it. But I think it was worth it.

For the first time, I like the front more than the back.

If you know anything about Tula Pink’s fabric, then you know she loves to hide little animals and fun designs. So I decided to hide the words “Tula” “Pink” and “Plume” in the quilting.

I didn’t tell her where they were hidden, but she is super clever and found them that day.

A photo of the edge of the quilt. I just love the straight lines on here!

Close up of the design. Thanks so much for looking!!!

Thanks to Shea for her wonderful photography

Comments

  1. Keri McGinnis says:

    Love it! Reminds me of giant lifesavers! My favorite! πŸ™‚

  2. Whitney Wilson says:

    Posting again….HOW MUCH I LOVE THIS QUILT……you do AMAZING WORK!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  3. Lauren Hughey says:

    Angela… just came across your blog. BEAUTIFUL job!!!

  4. WOW! That is amazing!!! I’ve been wondering when we were going to get a look at this one : )
    Tula must love it!!!
    xxx

  5. oh my goodness, that is just amazing!!

  6. masterpiece!

  7. you are so amazingly talented! incredible!

  8. I don’t know what to comment except WOW!!!

  9. Kelly Harris says:

    LOVE this! you are an artist πŸ™‚

  10. Beautiful! Love the quilting.

  11. Tammy Graves says:

    Beautiful! It reminds me of giant lifesavers! Makin’ my mouth water!!! Thanks for sharing!

  12. Wow, amazing quilt and quilting!

  13. Amazing!

  14. Just beautiful!!!

  15. Jan Smith says:

    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful….and I have a lot to learn!

  16. Gorgeous!

  17. This is absolutely STUNNING!!! You have some mad skills!

  18. Fantastic! I wish I had half your skill!!

  19. Thanks for the comments on my quilting. I found you via tallgrass prairie studio blog with her selvedge quilt. I absolutely loved what you did with her quilt and this one too is stunning, well done.

  20. Caitlin McIntyre says:

    This is so, so, SOOO beautiful! I just got this pattern and can’t wait to make it. I’m very excited for you to do one of my quilts πŸ™‚

  21. This is so much fun!! I adore all the hidden Tulas. You are so talented!

  22. Gasp! masterpiece!

Trackbacks

  1. […] as a family picture. All the girls together. The Cherry Pie quilt, the Le Petite Salon quilt, the Cartwheel quilt, and the Pancakes quilt. You can purchase her fabric and patterns […]

  2. […] the meantime, we decided to enter the Cartwheels quilt in a quilt show here in Kansas City. It wasn’t quilted specifically for show (there are […]

  3. […] or words that represent what the quilt is about. I have done it several times, here, here, and here. So I hid some stuff in her quilt and told her that she had to find […]

Leave a Reply

