Giveaway!

When you dream…..do you dream green?

This weeks giveaway is a crib size of Quilter’s Dream “Dream Green” Batting. When I received it in the mail, I wasn’t prepared for the batting to actually be green, interesting. Here’s what Quilters Dream has to say about Dream Green batting:

Dream Green is a soft, cozy batting made 100% from recycled plastic bottles! Dream Green meets our highest standards of quality, function and performance. Your needles will glide through this unique eco-friendly batting. Finished quilt may be machine-washed and dried with little to no shrinkage. Dream Green is wrinkle-resistant.

Each pound of Dream Green Batting keeps 10 plastic bottles out of our landfills. Plastic bottles are cut into chips, washed, melted and extruded into fine polyester fibers. These recycled fibers are indistinguishable from “virgin” polyester fibers yet are made without depleting our precious natural resources. To avoid additional processing we have kept the soft “natural” green bottle color – but you can rest assured that Dream Green is colorfast and compatible to all your finest quilts and projects.

Dream Green has been carded, crosslapped and needlepunched for uniformity, strength, and resiliency. There is no scrim or resins yet you can stitch up to 12” apart! Utilizing eco-efficient recycling Quilters Dream has developed a wonderful quilt batting that truly accomplishes the meaning of “green.”

So to win this batting, leave a comment on what you think about green batting (either the color or the eco-friendliness of it). One week from today, I will select a winner. Since I have never even heard of this batting, let alone tried it, whoever wins the batting has to agree to email me what they think of it.

I also want to point out that I am not affiliated with Quilter’s Dream Batting or compensated for my opinions (I wish!).

Good luck!!!

Comments

  1. I have a few baby quilts that need quilting – for my new granddaughter. 😉 I’d love to try it out if you’ll send it to Canada.

  2. green batting eh? I’d be curious to see it under white fabric 🙂
    as far as the earth friendliness? I’m all for it!
    Anything to do my part.
    I’m going to google this product to see how it compares economically to the warm and natural I normally use…

  3. i have not tried this brand either, but i am all about the green! thanks for the offer!

  4. it sounds wonderful! I’d like to give it a try too. I was also thinking that I wonder what it would look like under white fabricl

  5. What a fabulous idea! I’m so for anything that helps to put things that would otherwise be wasted back into use. Even though I use cotton batting now, I would certainly be willing to give it a go.

  6. I’d be willing to try it – of course I have very little quilting experience so I’d really have nothing to compare it to. Thanks for the giveaway.

  7. I have some projects ready to quilt and would love to win this battling. Green…my favorite color.

  8. Sarah Stevens says:

    I have wanted to try this batting, just haven’t gotten around to it yet. (By the way does anyone sell Round-Tuits that you know of? I could use a few! LOL) The concept makes a lot of sense to me as long as more energy is not used to create this than is saved in the “green” process. I have heard it is a nicely drapeable batting. Sarah

  9. Sounds interesting, I hadn’t heard of this batting before and would love to try it!

  10. I’ve never used this batting, but I think it’s a great idea if it keeps plastics from our landfills. I’d love to try it. Thanks for the giveaway.

  11. Very interesting. Very interesting way to go green. Count me in.

  12. It is definitely green in color as well as product. I have looked at this before but never bought it. I would try it. I try all different kinds of batting to see what works and looks best.

  13. Jenniffier says:

    Thanks for introducing this to us. I really like the idea of keeping plastic bottles out of the landfills. That seems like a great way to re-use 🙂

  14. Laurie G says:

    I am all about going green and would love to try this out!
    Laurie

  15. Marcia W. says:

    Unsure as to how the color green would work under white and light colored fabrics. If their price is comparable with other battings, then might be an option. Otherwise, would have to try it “free” . I like soft batting. Thank you for this giveaway. mlwright29 (at) hotmail (dot) com

  16. I’m very interested to see how this works! WE have carpet that was recycled from pop bottles and it’s great! I’m glad to see so many companies are make moves in the “green” direction!!

    Now if we can just get the cost of organics down…

    Thanks for the giveaway!♥

  17. NEAT GIVEAWAY
    I’ll give it a try-thanks for sharing!
    Love,Linda

  18. I’ve used this before and it’s very easy to work with. However, in the forum I belong to, we all did a burn test on it. And sure enuf, it melts.

    So use it for art quilts but not for bed quilts, especially those for kids.

  19. I love the idea of keeping plastic out of the landfill. I’d like to test this on a wallhanging to see how drapeable it is.

  20. I’m all for giving green a shot!!

  21. I love to be green when I can. Every little bit makes a difference.

    Thanks for being so generous, always giving stuff (and your time) away. Your kindness inspires me.

  22. i think that this batting is a great idea!
    i would love to give it a shot and use it
    i am happy that there is a compony who does such a great thing
    thanks!

  23. I would love to win! I have a project for this right now!

  24. Anything green has to be good – it will inspire us to make quilts without too much white in them I think!

  25. Hmmmm. Thanks for bringing this to my attention! I wasn’t aware that this product existed! I recycle and feel a little proud that I helped keep our enviroment clean and helped supplied the plastic bottles . I would love to try this product out! Thank-you very much!

  26. I’ve never used Green batting before, but it sounds like a great concept. I’d love to try it. Thanks for entering me 🙂

  27. I’ve not heard of this brand before, would love to give it a try.

  28. I have not tried this batting yet but I will get some and try it eventually. I am always wary of “eco” labeled products. Bamboo, for instance, takes an incredible amount of chemicals to process, which is why it’s not processed in the US. That’s not “eco” to me. The batting made from plastic waste is closer to being really eco but I think I’d want to know more about how it’s processed.

  29. fleurette says:

    Plastic pollution is a global problem and I’m impressed with this development by Quilters Dream, I would love to try it.
    Thanks for the wonderful giveaway.

  30. Love that this is a small but satisfying way to stay green. 🙂

  31. Wow. I’d love to try this. I think the recycled aspect is really interesting!

  32. I’ve never tried it but I generally like all things green!

  33. Green batting is amazing, what a great idea. I’d love to try it out.

  34. This is a new batting for me. What a great idea for re-using plastic bottles! As I’m always making baby quilts, winning your Giveaway would be fantastic!

  35. SewLindaAnn says:

    I love the idea of green batting, in the eco-sense. It’s so important to get every possible manufactured item to be earth friendly. It’s great that all the major ones are finally taking the time to help.

  36. I love the concept of ‘green’ batting. I only think the color would be a problem if it goes over white or cream. Otherwise, if it works as well as cotton batting, I think it is fantastic!

  37. Cool idea! I’d need to get my hands on it to know what I really think.

  38. I am not sure what I think about it, but I think it would very interesting to try! 😀

  39. I had never heard of it, but would love to try it.

  40. No matter what you think of global warming.. you can’t deny that taking care of our world is a GOOD THING!! No matter what!!! So naturally – I love this idea.

    We bought an outdoor run made from plastic bottles and it’s so soft it’s amazing! And it washes up beautifully with the hose. AND.. the best part, it was inexpensive!

  41. I’ve wanted to try this- great idea! Wonder if I’ll miss the shrinkage though

  42. Deborah A says:

    Anything “Green” is the bomb in my book. I’d love to try it out – perfect for baby quilts!

  43. Sounds interesting. I really like that it’s a recycled product.
    Tahnk you for the chance to win.

  44. Whoever would have thought…batting from bottles. Very good idea! I would love to check it out.

  45. I think “green” batting is a great idea–currently I use organic cotton, but I would be willing to try this.

  46. ooo, sounds like a wonderful product, love that it is green in color, too funny!

  47. I’m curious about the green batting and how it looks with light colored quilts.

  48. Very interesting…I would like to try it.

  49. I am always on the lookout for green products…just did not relize that the batting would be a green color also. It would be interesting to try.

  50. Thank you for highlighting this product which was new to me.

  51. What a great concept! I’m looking forward to trying it, even if I don’t win.

    How funny that the thought of GREEN batting (or any other color besides the usual neutrals) is so strange to so many of us. Why not have green, or pink, or… 🙂

  52. The color totally intrigues me. I would love to use it, because I like using green products where I can.

  53. I’ve felt the green batting and like the feel of it but haven’t used it yet, would like to give it a try though.

  54. I love the idea of a green-er batting option. I do wonder how it holds up in the heat of the dryer, though!

  55. I have never heard of this, what a great idea!! I am always looking for ways to be more green. I wonder if its only made out of green bottles.. sprite, mtn dew??? or do they add green dye???

  56. I am always ready to try something new. Sounds like a great alternative batting.

  57. I am not sure what I think about things being green INSIDE the quilt. It’s a great idea in the theoretical sense!

  58. Angie H. says:

    I think its a great idea. There are more and more eco-friendly fabrics out there and I think people would want a product that is eco-friendly to put in their quilts.

  59. I would definitely try it out. Green colour is fine with me… actually kind of novel!

  60. I have never used this type of batting but would love to try it out. I have 3 quilt tops ready for batting now. 🙂

  61. I like that they found another use for the plastic bottles. I have seen clothes made from the bottles as well and you can’t tell the fibers are plastic.

    Wonder how it will “breathe”?

    SheilaC

  62. nicole j bideau says:

    wow its amazing what they can do with recycled stuff these days if you took a pop bottle back when I was young that was classed as recycling lol well I would love to see what this looks and feels like a sort of try before you buy lo take care thanks for the chance Nicole x

  63. Green batting…interesting! I have never used it and I wonder how it would look if it ever started to beard through the fabric! It might make the quilt look like it is moldy or something! Ick. But I like the idea of using plastic bottles for something that is historically a recycled item like a quilt.

    MGM

  64. so, this would be perfect for me since i have a new baby coming anyday… and a quilt for him that i am ready to quilt… i think green is good. i really try to be green in all that i do. not that i am worried about global warming, i just think it is the right thing to do for our planet!

  65. Lisa in Oregon says:

    Hmm, I wonder if the green would show through light colored fabrics or not? Interesting …. I like using eco-friendly products…but in the end, I want the right kind of drape from the batt – regardless of what it’s made of, so that would be my deciding factor for purchase.

  66. Great giveaway!!!
    Is it open to international readers? if so count me in please.
    Honestly, I never used a “Dream green” batting, but if is green is good. I used to batting with natural cotton or bamboo, never polyester, I don’t like her touch and is not “green”.
    It will be apleasure for me to try this batting ;D
    Thanks for the chance.

    Elena

  67. I would love to try this batting-I have never heard of it before. Thanks for hosting a giveaway.

  68. I didn’t realize that it was actually colored green. But my favorite color is green so why not try it. I would like to know what other quilters who have used it, think about it. It is a great way to recycle.

  69. Not only is it good to recycle, but I think “green” batting is important because you will be in bed with it! Not so much the color (since you don’t see that), but the metaphoric greenness of stuff. The fact that it has been processed less is probably better for you to sleep with! Thanks for the giveaway and I think your quilting is amazing!

  70. I love Quilter’s Dream batting, but haven’t tried this one. There are many tops waiting here for a batting and backing.

  71. I’ve never even seen the green batting in the store. I use the cottage and love it. How does this stuff feel?? I’m totally intrigued. Jennifer

  72. Debbie Samuelson says:

    What a wonderful batting! I have worked in the “recycling” industry for the past 20 years, and you’d be really surprised at all that can be made recycled plastic bottles. I would love a chance to use this with my quilt!

  73. I think it sounds really interesting. I can’t see that it would be any different than other polyester batting, and I like the idea of earth friendly.

  74. Cool product! I haven’t heard of it before, so I don’t know if it is even available in Canada (yet)
    I think that it is great to use recycled material this way.
    I trained as an engineer, so I know that sometimes the idea of recycling is harder than the reality, it looks like this product takes advantage of the fact that recycled materials may be a different colour or slightly less regular than new (who cares if one batch of batting is a different shade of green!)

    Also, as quilters, we want our product to last forever, so it could be good to use a batting that isn’t going to break down.
    Thanks for the contest!

  75. I absolutely LOVE the color green…so I’m sure I would LOVE green batting! Ive made one Very Hungry Caterpillar quilt and have 3 more to go. There’s lots of green in that quilt….green batting would be just the thing! Thanks for the chance!

  76. Sue Goodin says:

    I love being able to buy green products. Better yet I love to win green products. But I’ve heard great reviews.

Trackbacks

  1. […] for looking and don’t forget to enter the giveaway for a free crib size […]

Leave a Reply

