A letter to Procrastination and other non-quilting related things……..

Dear Procrastination,

Hello, I know we see each other every day, but I wanted to take this time to thank you for all the times you have been there for me. When I had a huge deadline looming, you were the one whispering in my ear, “don’t you want to be on the computer a little longer”. Or when the housework seen insurmountable, you wrapped your arm around me and led me to Starbucks, because the coffee I had at home just wasn’t cutting it. You’ve been around for so long, even back when I was finishing a 5th grade science project the night before it was due. I will always remember your sayings, “Why now, there’s always tomorrow” or, my favorite, “sure you can start another project, you only have 5 that need to be done now.” Even now as I type this, you are helping me forget the customer’s quilt I have on my machine. You are absolutely right, I can always work on it later tonight. I know some people like to call you by a different name, Creative ADD, but we are close enough that I can just call you Pro. And with a name like Pro, you’ve got to be good, right? I would so love to write this letter a little longer, but I am thinking that I might like to take a nap. There’s always time to finish it tomorrow………..

Ok, that’s enough creative writing for me. But, seriously, why do we (I say we, because I am sure I am not the only one who deals with this) always put stuff off? So frustrating. And now, I have another great reason to put off doing the things I should:

My super wonderful husband got me a new camera for Mother’s Day. I say it’s a Mother’s Day gift, but in reality it is a gift for every occasion for the next 2 years, but I think it’s worth it. All my super cool bloggy friends have awesome pictures on their blogs and I wanted them too. Plus, I reasoned with my husband, I could take pictures of the kids. We could save money not paying for their portraits! It’s a win/win!

I recently finished a purse for my sister-in-law, and now I had the perfect subject to test out my new camera. I had made one and blogged about here. When my sister-in-law saw it, she asked me to make one for her. Since her birthday is coming up, it will be an early birthday present.

Using this tutorial, I added a cute little flower on the front.

Thanks for looking and don’t forget to enter the giveaway for a free crib size batting!

Comments

  1. Congrats on the new camera! Can’t wait to see some more pics! There is always later to work : )
    xxx

  2. Oh how true it is!!! Many times has pro visited me when contemplating customers quilts.

  3. OMG! I love your letter. I feel like I wrote it!!

  4. Another procrastinator here!!! 🙂

    I love the flower on the purse.

    Congratulations on your new camera!

  5. I love it! In college my motto was “Procrastination is the key to a successful college career”. I feel honored that I now own one of the wonderful creations highlighted on your blog!

  6. Awesome camera. Such a great gift. And I absolutely love the flower on your new purse.

  7. Wow! I am so impressed with all your craftiness! It was fun to meet you tonight at Olive Garden. I just friended you on FB and saw you have a blog. I can’t wait to read more (and hopefully cross paths with you again soon)! 🙂

  8. Another fellow procrastinator here! My little voice tells me “why, if it’s worth doing today, then it’s SURELY worth doing tomorrow as well…” Haha!

    Found you from Lily’s Quilts blog and Fresh Modern Bee – hope you’ll be joining us! Your work is amazing!

Leave a Reply

