I have been on a self-imposed hiatus the last two days. I have quilted at least 3 hours a day since the beginning of last month and my body was ready for a break. I have to say that I have been going through withdraws. My quilting machine looks so lonely, but I will be back to work tomorrow. So in the meantime, I am going to post some pictures of a quilt that I finished a year or so ago.

This is my “Shine” quilt (“Shine, make ’em wonder what you got”. Sorry, can’t resist breaking out in song there). I made this quilt using a technique that I learned from Margaret Bucklew. it’s a pretty easy technique to do once you get the pattern made.

This quilt is kinda like a Monet painting, it looks better from further away. When you back away from it, your eys blend the shades of the fabric making it look more realistic. But here is a close up of the hand.

Generally, I am not a big fan of variegated thread, but it definitely worked for this quilt. My hope was to make the quilting look like rays of light, but I am not sure it does. Oh, well.



Close up of the back of the quilt.

I am excited to get back to quilting tomorrow and hopefully I will have some fun stuff to show soon.

Thanks for looking!!

Comments

  1. Kelly Harris says:

    love this! such a neat quilt!

Leave a Reply

