Work In Progress

It seems like I don’t get to piece as many quilts as I like, but this time every year I get the chance. My husband’s family has an annual family reunion and at the reunion family members get an opportunity to win quilts. There is a quilt for every generation as well as a quilt made for newly married couples. A person can only win these kinds of quilts once, but to keep everyone coming back we have a “hodge podge” quilt. The hodge podge quilt can be won by any family member in attendance no matter how many quilts they have won in the past.

Over the years, the hodge podge quilt has evolved from a hand embroidered quilt, to a picture quilt, and now it is a regular quilt. My husband’s grandparents started this tradition to encourage people to attend the family reunions and in the past they would piece and hand-quilt them. These quilts are treasured. My husband has the quilts he has won in the past and one of them is on our bed right now. It was at these reunions that I first became interested in quilting and I talk about a little more about it here.

Now that I am full-fledged machine quilter, I quilt the tops and make the hodge podge quilt. It’s a chance for me to make whatever I want and this is what I came up with this year:

It’s a variation of a stacked coin quilt. And because it can’t run away when I try to take pictures (like my kids) I took some “artistic” poses with it. I think the neighbors must think I am crazy.

I can’t wait to find out who wins it. The very first year I made the hodge podge quilt, my husband won it! Even though we are all family, it can get intense when the names are drawn for the quilt. I got more than a fair share of glares that year.

And a side note, I don’t normally show pictures of my kids on here because I am don’t want to stray from the theme of the blog……But……I have to make an exception. Isn’t this the cutest?

When I came home from quilt market, the kids (with a bunch of help from my husband) had set this up for me. Gotta love those kiddos!

Thanks for looking!

Comments

  1. Awww…that is so cute!

    • This is a really smart and helpufl post, Jo and I don’t say that just because I do a little quilting on the side too! It helped me think about the answer to the question I was recently asking on my own blog about when reading is (or isn’t) research. It’s true that almost any reading may contribute to my own learning and intellectual growth. The key issue in terms of whether it is professionally significant reading is whether it contributes also to someone else’s learning and intellectual growth whether, as you put it, it provides value to someone else. It might do that through my teaching or through my writing and publishing, but what matters is that the reading develops into something outward-directed.I suppose the issue still remains that it isn’t always immediately clear whether we are doing work or pursuing our hobby if we are lucky enough to have a job that aligns closely with our values and interests. Sometimes we buy fabrics just to add them to our stash. But we do that because someday we may find the pattern or occasion for which they will be just right! Reading for fun is like that, I think, for someone in my job. I’m currently teaching a class on close reading and needed examples of different kinds of narrative voice as illustrations. Everything I needed was on my living room bookshelves: a little Ian McEwan, a little Hilary Mantel, a little Anne Tyler and Elizabeth Bowen and Virginia Woolf. And of course the new class I’m developing on Vera Brittain et al. is a stronger example and the papers on Soueif too. You have to allow yourself to collect material you like even if you aren’t sure how you’ll be able to use it. The point is, you expect to use it, and now that you have it, you’ll keep thinking about how and when.

  2. Seeing that as we pulled up the driveway was so awesome. Your family is adorable.

    AND! That quilt is super cute (and very photogenic in the tree!).

  3. You are making me hungry for mint chocolate chip ice-cream, hmmm on a sunny day under that beautiful treeee! I love green and chocolate together. Have fun at the reunion!

  4. Isn’t is so nice to be missed by your family? When my family was young, anytime I came home from a business trip, everyone let me know how glad they were that I was home. It’s just such a great feeling, isn’t it?

    As far as wondering what the neighbors think about “posing” your quilts…I wonder the same thing sometimes as I’m hanging a quilt over the fence and snapping pictures – lol.

  5. BTW…whoever wins the quilt will surely be thrilled – it’s gorgeous!

  6. What a darling quilt! Someone lucky will win it.
    Your kids are too cute! I guess I leave too much. They don’t even think to do cute things like this. LOL.
    Have a great weekend.

  7. That’s awesome! You have a wonderful family. 🙂

  8. This looks ace mate! Lucky family member!
    Your kids are gorgeous! What an awesome welcome home!!! Sure beats a messy house and a sink load of dishes!!! : )

Leave a Reply

