Book Review and Giveaway!

I had the awesome opportunity to go to Quilt Market with some really fun people! While I was there, I met Melissa Averinos and I even got a copy of her new book, “Small Stash Sewing”. (Ok, so it was a book signing and she doesn’t know who I am, but I did meet her)

On my 7 hour drive home from market, I poured over the book and picked out the things I really, really had to make.

The first thing I made was this belt. Now I can show my Tula Pink Plume love everywhere I go! This was very simple to make and the instructions were so easy to follow.

Side note: I wanted to show how cute the belt looks on, but there isn’t enough photoshop in the world to make my muffin top disappear!

Since making the belt was so easy, I decided to make the Faux Pillowcase Dress next. Now I want to point out I have never made any type of clothing before and I was a little worried. But the directions were easy to follow and soon I had it finished:

Now I would love to pass the book on to a lucky winner, leave a comment saying hi and next Monday I will randomly select a winner.

Good luck and Happy Memorial Day!

Hug a Military Service member and tell them thanks!


Update: I guess I should mention that it is signed by the author, but she wrote my name in it. I hope no one minds.

Comments

  1. I just found out about this book on another blog. Thanks for the review. I definitely need to get a copy :). Lucky you going to quilt market. Jealous!

  2. that dress is super cute!
    p.s. I smiled at the muffin top comment πŸ™‚
    I don’t have one –albeit I’m pregnant right now so that’s a whole other kind of top!
    (my muffin top will be back in July when this baby arrives however)

  3. Hi! Just recently found your blog and am so enjoying reading it.
    Until yesterday it had been ages since I’d done any non-quilt related sewing. It’s been fun. Thinking I definitely have the stash to make this book useful……

  4. eileensideways says:

    melissa averinos is a talented gal. love the faux pillowcase dress. bet the rest of the book is equally creative.

  5. Hi, Angela! Your book sounds like fun! Tell us more about Quilt Market…

  6. Adorable Belt! Happy memorial day.

  7. Jenniffier says:

    Hi, Thanks for giving us a chance to win. Very cute belt πŸ™‚

  8. Love the dress and the belt! And I am interested in hearing about quilt market – what was the coolest thing you saw?

    Thanks for the giveaway.

    Julie

  9. I can just imagine all the great things you saw at quilt market. I would love to win the book. Thanks for the chance.

  10. Thx for the chance to win Melissa’s book. I already knew her projects and directions would be terrific just by reading her blog, Yummy Goods.

  11. Amanda A says:

    I would love to win this – thanks for passing it on!!

  12. I went to Market too and had a BLAST! I’m wondering how many projects are in that book… I bought two books at Market, this was not one of them. Love the dress and belt!
    (And I’m also a longarmer!) =]

  13. I did hear she was coming out with a book but hadn’t seen it yet – I would love to get my hands on it :). The belt is adorable and my favorite part of the dress picture is your model’s expression – priceless!!

  14. hi there… thanks for the shout out to us military! we love hugs {wink}

  15. Marcia W. says:

    Thank you for sharing your items from Market. I would like to win this book so can utilize scraps for useful and pretty projects. mlwright29 (at) hotmail (dot) com

  16. It is so cute….I love new ideas!!

  17. pixie13 says:

    Sounds fun. Would love to make the Faux Pillowcase dress. Please accept my entry. Thanks!

  18. HI! πŸ™‚

  19. Your project is lovely!

    Thanks for the awesome giveaway!
    Amy
    artsyrockerchick at aim dot com

  20. Nice belt and such a cute dress. Thanks for the chance to win the book.

  21. MIchelle Grable says:

    HI –
    Absolutely love your blog – keep us posted with all your new work!!

    Hugs!
    MIchelle

  22. Jenna Wood says:

    Thanks for the wonderful chance!

    six_one_nine_girlie86 (at) yahoo (dot) com

  23. this book looks great
    i would love to win it
    thanks alot!

  24. The book sounds wonderful! Love your belt!

  25. Cute dress! I just made my first piece of clothing ever too, and it wasn’t as scary as I thought.

  26. this book sounds great!! I by no means have a big stash( although my husband would disagree as its in our closet)
    Thanks for the chance!

  27. Cute dress! I have a little one that would be into that.

  28. Hi! I would love to win!

  29. Very cute! Thanks for sharing the book. And thanks for entering me πŸ™‚

  30. Annette says:

    Thanks for introducing me to this book. I’d love to get my hands on a copy.
    http://www.hellorayne@yahoo.ca

  31. Sounds like a fantastic book, especially if there are directions for the dress being modelled by that little cutiepie.
    Thank you for the chance ;o)

  32. love your blog….this looks like neat book….thanks for having a giveaway

  33. What an adorable little model! Nice work!

  34. Looks like a great book, thanks for the opportunity.

  35. Great dress! Thanks for the chance!

  36. Melissa says:

    I love hand-me-downs! And I have three little girls, so the pillowcase dress pattern would definitely get some use here!

  37. Love the dress and the belt is cute too! Thanks for the giveaway!

  38. Cathy A says:

    What fun to “meet” Melissa Averinos! It looks like your projects turned out great! It sounds like a really fun book, too! Since it was a book signing, does that mean it was signed? How cool!

  39. SewLindaAnn says:

    Your belt and the dress look great. Very generous of you to share the book with her autograph in it!

  40. Pattie Crum says:

    Next Monday is my birthday and that book looks good, I’m just saying. This is my first visit to your blog, I’ll be stopping by to check on you from now on, but not in a stalker kind of way.

  41. Melissa is awesome – she’s a fun person, so I’m sure all of these projects are awesome in the book!

  42. I would gladly let people call me Angela for a chance to win this book. After all, people call me by the wrong name all the time. Usually they call me Ericka (my identical twin sister’s name), but occasionally there is the person who seems to think ERIN is pronounced URN or much worse, URINE. (sigh)

  43. Cute! Nothing like stash busting! xoxoxox Thanks

  44. adorable name for your blog! πŸ˜‰
    thanks for the chance

  45. Misty steed says:

    I luv your work! I am a beginner quilter and am enjoying following your tweets! Keep up the great work.

  46. your projects look so great. i love the dress. this book looks so great. thanks for having the giveaway

  47. I’ve been wanting to take a look at this book. Thanks for the chance to win it!

  48. Melissa’s book looks awesome. I would love a chance at it!.

  49. Wow how generous, what a great looking book. Thanks for the PIF love.

  50. This is great, I’ve seen this book floating around in blogland and have definitely added it to my wishlist. Thanks for the chance at your giveaway!

  51. Erin M. says:

    Looks like a good read. Thanks for passing it on.

  52. Caitlin says:

    Hi Angela! Looks like fun!

  53. I love books and wouldn’t mind borrowing your name.

  54. Gale, Ky quilter says:

    Would love to win this book! Thanks for the chance.

  55. heather says:

    I covet this book!

  56. Connie F says:

    I love a giveaway.
    Cute projects too!

  57. this book looks awesome!!

  58. Hi (lol), I’d love to be entered to win the book, I don’t mind your name’s there, we both share the “A” , and you have a beautiful name as well!

  59. Kayli Taylor says:

    I’m a huge fan of you and your blog, thanks for doing the giveaway I hope I have a chance!

  60. I love sewing and it sounds like a great book. Sure….a signing is a “meeting”.

  61. Cool! I’d love to win this book.

  62. I like your belt. Would love to win the book.

  63. very cool. i have lots of small stash for sewing! cute belt! found you thru julie’s blog! tahnks for a chance.

  64. Thanks for a great give away!!

    SheilaC

  65. So cute! I would love to be in the giveaway. That pillowcase dress is darling. (so is your DD). πŸ™‚

  66. What a fun and generous giveaway! I’m so excited about Melissa’s book and can’t wait to get a copy for myself!

  67. this book looks so great! I would LOVE to go to Quilt Market! Must’ve been fun πŸ™‚ Thanks for the chance to win this book.

  68. Nancy Bellis says:

    My mini group members are clients of yours and I’m glad you’re moving on to bigger and better things, but sad that I didn’t get a quilt finished in time to have you customize it with your creativity!!

    Nancy

  69. Your belt turned out great! I’d love to make some projects from this book…thanks for the chance to win it.

  70. YOur quilting is beautiful, you will conquer those circles. i’d love a chance to win this.

  71. Kelley Oletzke says:

    Thanks for the great giveaway! That is a darling little dress you made and I love the belt.
    Thanks,
    Kelley O

  72. Hi! Sounds like a really neat book!
    Love your Blog! Thanks for sharing!
    Love,Linda

  73. Oh I would love this book! Being a military wife myself and moving from place to place, I find myself limited a smaller stash of fabric. I am always on the look for projects that I can make without a lot of space, or fabric needed. Table runners have been a favorite of mine for awhile, but I would love to get a new fresh approach! Thanks for the giveaway!
    Meghan

  74. Sounds like a neat book. I love making pillowcase dresses and trying new things with them.
    blessed.mama4 at yahoo dot com

  75. Hi …I love the belt and the book looks like it’s filled with ideas. Thanks for the chance to win!

  76. Hi, looks like a lovely book. Thanks for the chance to win it!

  77. Hi! Great dress! I have a tiny stash myself, so this sounds great. Thanks for the chance!

Leave a Reply

