This one’s a doozy!!

Sometimes, I finish a quilt and i know it will look great before I even take it off of the rack.

More often, I am crossing my fingers and hoping for the best. This quilt that was such a stretch for me, I really wanted to push myself to do something different than I have done in the past. I was a little nervous that it wouldn’t “flow” together and that it would look like I tried to hard, But then a miraculous thing happened, I laid it out and it was better than I had ever even imagined!

This is a top secret quilt for Tula Pink but she agreed to let me show the border:

I started this with just a sketch beside me and a whispered prayer. It is all freehand.

This is a close up of the corner design. Look ma, no stencils!

I used two layers of Quilter’s Dream Batting to give it a little bit of puffiness. I didn’t want the full on trapunto look, just a little extra ummph!

Here is a shot of the back, the pebble stippling took SOO long and probably gave me carpel tunnel but it was worth it.

I have seen various bloggers talking about their processes, how they get to the finish. I think I am going to start doing that too. I just talk to myself in my mind, but I as I write it out, I realize there is a process there.

So I was laying in bed at 2 in the morning, unable to sleep. When that happens, I try to think of different quilting designs (no counting sheep for me!). This idea kinda popped in my head and I like it so much that I got out of bed just to get it on paper. Sorry about the blurry spots, I had to erase all the “top secret” information. When I started quilting the next day, I glanced at the sketch and just went for it. It’s so fun when it turns out like it I want it too!

I am going to wrap up this post with a totally un-quilting related picture:

A friend of my husband’s owns a plane and yesterday I got to go for a little flight. This is a picture of the sunset over downtown Kansas City.

I wonder if I can make that into a quilt……..

Comments

  1. okay you just have to be the BEST long arm quilter of all time!!!

  2. WOW! Your works just keeps getting better and better!
    You are Amazing girl!

  3. Holy cow, holy wow! That is just amazing! It’s going to be an incredible quilt!!

  4. AMAZING!!!!

  5. WOW, what an intriguing look at this….what will be “awesome” quilt….on the unrelated picture…isn’t flying incredible!

  6. I am stumped for words. Spectacular, awesome…. I can’t wait to see what the entire quilt looks like.

  7. This is so gorgeous! I love the colors and I love that design. How fun to see your process from your original sketch to the final quilting. I am trying to get better at documenting my process, so I really appreciate this post. Can’t wait to see the rest of this quilt!

  8. A “Parisville” quilt perhaps!

  9. Barbara McCartney says:

    Angela, that is absolutely beautiful. You do such beautiful work.

  10. That quilt, my dear, is nothing short of AMAZING. I cannot wait to see the whole thing. Tula’s right…you are a quilting ninja!

  11. Angela, YOU can make anything into a quilt! Ninja!!

  12. I’m guessing nearly 2 years on, this is no longer top-secret, but I couldn’t find a picture of the whole quilt; I’d love to see it!

Trackbacks

  1. […] is pretty much just a gratuitous quilting post. My personal quilt ninja, Angela, has done it again. This is actually the back of a quilt that I am writing a pattern for. This was […]

Leave a Reply

