Quilting isn’t a craft…..it’s an art!

Warning: generally, I like to keep my posts short and full of eye candy. This one…..not so much.

Recently, I had the opportunity to sit down with the editor of The KC Studio, a local magazine dedicated to the Arts (more about that exciting story in a different post). Kellie and I met over lunch and talked about a lot of things, mostly quilting. She listened patiently as I rambled on and on.

(I warn non-quilters that I can talk about quilting for extended periods of time without drawing a breath!)

I told her about my passion for quilting, how it’s an art to me, and she asked a question that has been rolling around in my head since.

“So,” she asked, leaning in a little, “Do you feel the need to defend yourself as an artist?”
I am embarrassed at my response. “No, I don’t,” I said, “If they know, then they know…you know?” I couldn’t believe how dumb that answer was.

“Hold on,” I said, “Let me rephrase. I don’t feel the need to defend myself as an artist. All the matters is that I know that what I do is art.”

Ok, so I managed a better answer then second time around, but that question had me thinking. Do we, as quilters, need to correct someone every time they ask us to make them a blanket? Do we need to justify the passion that we have for quilting?

Driving along last night, a phrase popped in my head,

“Quilting isn’t a craft…it’s an art”.

Hmm, I thought, I like the sound of that. I repeated it silently a few times, rolling the words over in my mind. (I didn’t want any weird looks from the hubby) Quilting is an art! A quilter is a fabric artist!

That is my new quilting motto. I am not saying that I am determined to defend myself as an artist, but I will reaffirm to anyone that listens that we are artists!

Ok, now that my rant is over, I am going back to quilting.

Comments

  1. Oh Angela! You are so certainly an artist! Stand up and be proud. Walk Tall! You do to quilts what Michael Angelo did to paint.

    I miss you guys at the KCMQG!

    xo, Tia

  2. You are an artist. Some people make quilts that are more craft than art. The love is still there. Other quilters begin as crafters and become artists. I think there’s quite a bit of fuzzy space between the two; sometimes it’s hard even for quiltmakers to see the difference so no wonder other people (even other artists) are confused.

Leave a Reply

