Hot off the quilting machine~ Julie’s Quilt

I met Julie through the Kansas City Modern Quilt Guild and she recently brought me her second quilt:

This quilt is another great example of semi-custom quilting. The blocks of fabric were big enough and busy enough that I knew it wouldn’t need a separate design in each one. But I didn’t want to do the same pattern allover the quilt. I decided to quilt a flowery motif in random blocks to help break up the rest of the allover quilting.

Here is a close up of the design.

I also decided to quilt the border with a different design. I used a freehand wishbone design and I love the texture that it adds to the quilt.

I especially love the look of the quilting on the back.

This quilt was a lot of fun to quilt, although I did get distracted looking at all the fun fabric! Thanks again to Julie for letting me quilt for her.

Also, thanks to everyone that commented on my Quilting Thread: Cotton vs. Poly discussion. I randomly selected Leslie as the winner of a goody!

Thanks for looking and Happy Quilting!!

Comments

  1. Love it! It looks great.

  2. Very nice! I can’t wait to see what wonders you work on mine!!! 🙂

  3. Your quilting is beautiful. I love how you do something different with every quilt.

  4. I love it! I love to do free motion, but I struggle with letting go and just doing it! Great job!

Leave a Reply

