Quilting with the kids

About a week or so ago I blogged about these cute quilts Becky made. I thought it was a good idea and that I might do the same thing with my kids…… someday.

But yesterday, my son hit me with the guilt trip.

“Mom,” he said, “how come you never let us make quilts? You promised to help us make one and you haven’t”

Um, ouch! He is right, of course. I had even promised that I would let them quilt on my quilting machine (not sure what I was smoking when I said that!). I decided that it was time to let them “make” a quilt.

Today, I got out the Heat N Bond and ironed it to the back of random pieces of fabric.

I cut out different shapes and let the kids use them to make designs on a piece of muslin.

Once they had their masterpiece ready, I helped them iron the pieces onto the muslin.

The finished “quilt tops”

Now they are finished, I told them that tomorrow I would put them on the quilting machine and let them quilt it. I am sure that will be interesting to say the least…..I will save that for another blog post.

Thanks for looking!

Comments

  1. Oh my, that’s a great idea! I did something similar and posted about it today, but my daughter was the ‘designer’ and I was the ‘worker’ – fun! Your kids will treasure their masterpieces forever!

    MGM

  2. They are so stinkin cute!!!! They must take after their Momma!
    What a great idea, can’t wait to see the finished masterpieces!

  3. They look so happy!!! It will be interesting to see how the quilting goes!!

  4. Kelly Harris says:

    love the quilts!! they did a great job 🙂

  5. I’m so glad you gave it a try. The kids probably had a GREAT time getting creative. I’m hoping to get our creations finished this weekend and then hanging on a wall. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Those are absolutely adorable.

  7. this is a fabulous idea!

Leave a Reply

