A little bit of Thread Painting….

I finished some cute little quilts for Caroyln C. about a month ago, but have been a little negligent on the blogging front!

This is a quick photo of the quilt while it was in progress….

The quilt she brought was different then anything I had ever quilted before. The background fabric is hand painted by a local artist and the dog fabric was so detailed.

I am not afraid to admit that I was a little nervous. I had never quilted on painted fabric before and there were a lot of things to take into consideration. Would the thread tension be ok? Would the quilting take away from the beauty of the painting? What quilting design do I use? Then there was the dog…..I knew it would need some thread detail…….but I wasn’t sure where to start.

As with most challenges, you have to take a leap of faith.

I decided a loose swirly design in the background fabric was the way to go…..and I think that I was right. It blends in nicely and doesn’t detract from the painting.


I quilted some details on the dog fabric, trying to keep the density of the quilting the same as the background.

And a simple border design to finish out the quilt. I love it when I get to work on quilts that are new to me…..keeps me inspired and gets the”quilting juices” flowing!

Thanks for looking!!!

Comments

  1. What an unusual quilt. Love the dog and you did a great job with it.

Leave a Reply

