Winner, Winner Chicken Dinner

Tula Pink and I have been talking about making quilts to enter in quilting shows.

In the meantime, we decided to enter the Cartwheels quilt in a juried quilt show here in Kansas City. That means that the winner is picked by a judge and not by the popular vote. It wasn’t quilted specifically for show (there are many thing to consider when “quilting for show” that aren’t done on a regular quilt), but I thought that we would just give it a shot and see what happens.

And it won third place! I was pretty excited about the fact that the first and second place quilt were hand-quilted (if I remember correctly). If you follow my convoluted way of thinking, then we practically won first place for machine quilting. Tula Pink and I are going to be an awesome, show quilting team. With her expert piecing and one-of-a-kind designs and my quilting, we are gonna have a blast!

Also, a couple of my customers won ribbons as well! I was so distracted talking to people that I only got a photo of Sharon’s quilt.

Congrats Sharon! You definitely deserved it!

~Thanks for looking~

Comments

  1. Your quilting is amazing! Congrats!

  2. AWESOME! I knew that bad boy was destined for greatness when I first saw it. Yeah for the dynamic duo!

    Two questions:

    1) Where was the show here?

    2) Tell us, oh wise one, what are the things that you have to do differently for show quilting? I am sure that I could just google it, but I’d much rather hear it from you! Inquiring minds want to know!

  3. Oh Congratulations! This quilt so deserved to win in terms of both the piecing and the quilting. The fabrics and piecing were great (naturally – Tula Pink!), but the quilting you did was just incredible and totally made the quilt outstanding.

  4. Congratulations!

  5. How is it possible that you did not take first place?????

  6. Huge congrats mate!!!!
    You guys are gonna nail these shows together!!!

Leave a Reply

