~Multitasking~

If you have been around me for more than 10 minutes, you know that I say the best way to get better at your quilting is to draw.  Most of machine quilting, whether on a longarm or on a sewing machine, is knowing where you are going next. Drawing (or doodling) is the best way to learn that.

My kids love to draw and are always begging me to color with them. I love to use that as a time to hang out with them and to practice whatever quilting design I want to try next. My children, the smart little buggers, have quickly caught on that I am not really drawing. So I try to come up with clever ways to disguise my quilting designs. I will say, “No, honey, it’s not a swirly meander, its the wind behind this flower (which is really a feather design)”

After seeing a quilting design at the Des Moines Quilt Show, I have been practicing it during our “color time”

I told the kids it was giant beanstalk (as in “Jack and the Beanstalk”) but I don’t think they believed me. But after a couple “color” sessions, I know how to make it “flow”. I am off to quilt it on Paula’s quilt. Do you think she will like it?

Thanks for looking, the next time I blog, it will be from Houston! Whoo-hoo!!!

Angela

Comments

  1. She will LOVE it, fabulous pattern!!!

  2. Yes it’s gorgeous!!

  3. I can tell you for certain she will love love it!!! Feathers are my favorite and a technique that I have yet to master!

    Thanks Angela.

  4. Amazing! Loved the Tula pink quilt! I’m just starting out on doing some free motion quilting with my sewing machine.

  5. I could draw 24/7 for many, many years and never get anything that would closely resemble the beautiful quilting you achieve. You have the ‘gift’ of being able to transfer what is in the brain to the hands to move the machine. Fabulous!!!

  6. Hi, I’ve come via Jaybird’s post about Tula Pink’s booth at Market. Your quilting is astounding!!! The patterns you’ve come up with are just so creative!!!

Leave a Reply

