~Alex’s Quilt~

I would normally say, “Hot off the rack~ Alex’s Quilt” but that implies that I have just finished the quilt and this time, that isn’t the case. I actually finished Alex’s quilt last month and I have been a blogging slacker. But I suppose better late than never.

Alex is an exceptional piecer and designer and I absolutely love working with her.

This is the quilt that she gave me to work on. The colors and the layout made this quilt stunning!

I used 3 different colors of thread on this quilt. Blue, white and brown. I am a big fan of matching my thread to the fabric. I feel like I can get away with more intense quilting without it taking over the quilt.

I had a bunch of fun deciding which kinds of designs to do in each of the blocks. I hope you don’t mind the slew of pictures that follow. I had a hard time deciding which ones to show, I just loved them all.


She used a luscious brown sateen on the back. It was as soft as cream and quilted up so beautifully.


This one is my favorite:

A question that I get asked a lot is how I pick my thread colors.
99% of the time I match the bobbin thread to the top thread. If the top is white and the back is brown, I will use white on the top and bottom. My reasoning is that no matter how good the tension is, sometimes you have areas where the top thread shows on the back, or vise versa. The official, technical term is “pokies”. This is of course, my opinion only. As the saying goes, I am the expert on my opinion 🙂

Thanks so much for looking!

Comments

  1. You could pretty much fit everything I know about quilting in, oh I don’t know, the eye of a needle. But I do know colors. And I LOVE the ones you used in this quilt!

  2. Wow! How pretty both the quilt and the quilting!

  3. Beautiful quilt, and I’m really enjoying learning about your creative process as the machine quilting part of the craft is new to me. Look forward to your next blog when ready!

  4. Love to look at the pictures of your quilting. Thanks for posting them. I can only dream of having your talent.

  5. I saw this quilt as it was coming together over on flickr… it’s amazing to see it finished… and see how the beautiful quilting you did completes it!

  6. The quilting is what makes this quilt special Angela. Amazing!!

Leave a Reply

