A Lovliness of Ladybugs……

When Mary first contacted me about quilting this quilt for her, she wrote in the subject line, “A loveliness of ladybugs flying your way”. So in honor of that, I think that is what she should name this quilt.

I am sorry that the picture doesn’t show the whole quilt. Hopefully you can see that the ladybugs around the outside have their wings open and the ones in the center have them closed.

When she sent me the quilt, she only had 2 requests. First, that I use green and red thread (yay!). And she also asked that I quilt Grammy loves Emily in the quilt. No problem!

I quilted some detail in the ladybugs. You may have to click on the picture to see it.

In one of the ladybugs in the center of the quilt, I quilted the name “emily” in the black.

I also quilted other words in the quilt….. hopefully it was fun for Mary and Emily to find them.

I used a different type of thread on this quilt. I used Superior Brytes thread in red and green. The Brytes thread is a little thicker than the So Fine thread that I normally use, but it was perfect for this bright and cheery quilt.

I know it can be kinda scary to send a quilt away to someone you have only met in blogland, and I appreciate Mary sending me this treasure. I know that Emily is going to treasure it always

In the next couple of weeks, I have some more fun stuff to show and a giveaway coming up, so make sure you stay tuned!!

Comments

  1. Crystal Mccrae says:

    Great work.

  2. Angela – The quilting you did for this quilt so surpassed anything I could have possibly imagined. I working to get the quilt bound, but I’m not sure I’m going to get it done by Christmas day. Thank you, thank you, thank for for a job fabulously done! I can’t wait to sit down with Em and do a little I spying for words πŸ™‚

  3. Angela ~ Bravo to both you and Mary. It’s a lovely quilt!

  4. This is a really happy quilt and must have been lots if fun to work on. You did a great job, as you always do!

Trackbacks

  1. […] a name, or a message or words that represent what the quilt is about. I have done it several times, here, here, and here. So I hid some stuff in her quilt and told her that she had to find […]

Leave a Reply

