Christmas Sewing

Right before Christmas, I finished up a very special gift for my Mother-in-law. Now that Christmas is over and she has received her present, I can finally show it to blogworld.

She is a thyroid cancer survivor and commented one day that there wasn’t enough Thyroid Cancer Awareness merchandise.

“Why does breast cancer get all the attention,” she half-joked. Of course she didn’t mean that she thought thyroid cancer was more important, she was just lamenting that she wanted something with the thyroid cancer awareness ribbon on it. An idea began to form in my mind.

I decided that a super cute purse would be a great Christmas present. My hope is that it will get attention while she carries it, and help spark conversation about her experience with thyroid cancer.

I made the bag using an Amy Butler pattern from her Style Stitches book and added the thyroid cancer awareness ribbon to the front.

The ribbon was very easy to add. I just printed off a clip-art of the ribbon and cut the shapes out of the blue, teal and pink. I used Steam-a-Seam fusible interfacing and stitched down the edges.

I coordinated the rest of the fabrics with the ribbon on front, using blue fabric for the handles and pink fabric for inside.

My daughter agreed that this was the cutest purse, she helped model it for my pictures.

There is a lot of room in this purse!

Normally, my friend Whitney makes purses for me. She is a master seamstress…..seriously…..check out this bag that she made. I was really, really tempted to ask her to make this one for me too but I figured that since this was to be a present, I should make it myself.

After a few text messages and an emergency face-to-face conversation with Whitney, I finally stumbled my way through making the purse. It’s not that Amy’s patterns aren’t easy to follow, it’s just that I am not a fan of sewing. Quilting is my thing and I have decided that the next purse I need, I will be calling Whitney.

I hope that you had a very Merry Christmas too!

Comments

  1. I, too, am a thyroid cancer survivor—21 years! Love the bag and what it represents. Thyroid cancer is more common than it used to be. Thank you for sharing. And now I know “we” have a ribbon!

Leave a Reply

