Machine Quilting Unlimited

Machine Quilting Unlimited is a magazine that I love. It always has inspirational photos, tips, and interesting articles. While every issue is great, this month’s issue is definitely my favorite. Of course, I may be just a tad bit biased since it includes an article written by yours truely!

“Machine Quilting the Modern Quilt” was an article that I proposed to them last summer. It was the first time I have ever submitted anything, and I was more than a little nervous. So I was pleasantly surprised when Kit, the editor, quickly accepted my idea.

When I received the magazine, I ripped it open and read it right there…….I was more than a little excited! It is so neat to see how they laid out the pictures and to see my name in print!

The article includes pictures of different quilts. The picture above shows La Pettite Salon, by Tula Pink, and Opposites Attract by Julie Herman.

  This quilt was pieced and quilted by Alex at Teaginny Designs. You have to check out her blog, her quilts are gorgeous and so inspiring! And, of course, anything I do has to include some of the Tula Pink quilts.

The Modern Alphabet quilt, which hung in Tula’s booth at the Fall Quilt Market.

A close up of my quilting on one of her Parisville quilts.

And I absolutely had to include a picture of the Cartwheels quilt.

Jaccquie’s Proposal Moon quilt was also included. Gotta love those circles!!

The articles offers tips on how to decide to quilt modern quilts as well as a lot of fun “eye candy”. The rest of the magazine is great as well, so if you are a machine quilter (whether on a longarm or a domestic sewing machine) pick one up!

I have been sooooooo busy quilting for Spring Quilt Market in Salt Lake City…….gotta get back to work! I will leave you with a sneak peek of the back of one of Tula Pink’s quilts.

Happy Quilting!!

Comments

  1. I have never seen that magazine before…I’m definitely going to look for it now. I love the work that you do and what I like the most is your custom quilting. You let the quilt dictate the quilting and that is something I really want to work on. Rather than an all-over design, I want to work on custom quilting my quilts. (But I need a lot of practice!) Thanks for sharing the article!

    • Thanks! Just like you said, it’s important to make the quilting specific to the quilt (in most cases). Just keep practicing and you will get there. I look back at some of the first quilts that I quilted and just laugh! We all start from the beginning 🙂

  2. How exciting to be published like that! I can’t wait to get this magazine. 😀

  3. Gotta get a copy!

  4. Way cool. I’ll try to find a copy, too. 🙂

  5. Congratulations! I can’t wait to get my copy! Now back to work!

  6. Congratulations….I”ll definitely be looking for the magazine. Are you involved at all in the Machine Quilters Showcase in KC in May?

  7. Congratulations! I just discovered this magazine about a month ago and I love it, too! It must be thrilling to be published!!

  8. Congrats Angela! I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy. Very exciting!

  9. congrats!!! and i think i spy my off the rail in the top of your sneak peek photo! 😉

  10. Laura Lee Tawney says:

    Congrats on the article in the magazine. I just realized my subscription ran out:( I’ll have to call tomorrow and re-up! Wonderful quilting I’m always in awe of your talent!
    Laura T

  11. Georgieanna says:

    GREAT JOB YOU ARE THE BOMB…….. WHERE CAN I GET THE MAGAZINE?????

  12. Sharon Vickery says:

    Angela congratulations, so deserving of the recognition for the beautiful work that you produce. Cybe hugs until I see you and can give you a big mama bear hug.

  13. Exciting! I need to subscribe to this magazine!!

    See you in Salt Lake!

  14. Thanks so much for introducing me to this magazine. Your quilts are so amazing, I had to subscribe!

  15. Angela,

    I have that issue of Machine Quilting Unlimited. Your work is amazing. Very inspirational!

  16. Congrats on the article! I love writing, but have never gotten the nerve to submit anything. With a blog you know it’ll at least get published 😉 With all the comments it’s nice to know you’re getting read too.

    And thanks for the photos of photos of your quilts. Beautiful!

    cheers,
    Don

Trackbacks

  1. […] Machine Quilting Unlimited « Quiltingismytherapy's Blog by Ayshah Maiorano on Thursday, April 28th, 2011 | No Comments Machine Quilting Unlimited is a magazine that I love. It always has inspirational photos, tips, and interesting articles. While every issue is great , …quiltingismytherapy.com/2011/04/…/machine-quilting-unlimit… […]

  2. […] the best part is…..they have included my article “Machine Quilting for the Modern Quilt” in the free sample […]

  3. […] me 100 (!) copies of their sample magazine to hand out! It includes the article I wrote, “Machine Quilting For the Modern Quilt” and the ad on the back features my Project Modern challenge […]

Leave a Reply

