When the LA Modern Quilt guild asked me to come visit them and host a few workshops, I was more than happy to say yes! I knew that they would be a fun guild to visit even if they weren’t in gorgeous LA.

When I told my husband that I was coming out, he graciously offered to come along with me….isn’t he such a sweetie. I am totally sure that it was because he wanted to support my quilting business and not because he was looking forward to hanging out at the beach while I worked.

We arrived a few days early to have some time to do a little typical sightseeing. We hit up the beach first thing.

The Santa Monica Pier was a lot of fun and we scored some souvenirs to take back to the kids, who are hanging out with Grandma while we are gone.

I also reached out to Allie at Robert Kaufman and asked if she would be willing to give me a tour of the facility while I was here. She was so kind and agreed to show me around. The first thing I saw when I walked in was the quilt I quilted for them.

It was fascinating to see how everything worked and how large their facility was.

Look at all those rolls of Kona Solids…….

Allie was great and it was so nice of her to take time out of her day to show us around.

We also went to the Getty art museum. Another fantastic place to spend your time.

But, of course, I am here to teach so I have spent the last couple of days teaching 3 workshops…..which of course I forgot to get pictures of! I thought they went really well. Everyone who attended asked a lot of great questions and I hope they left inspired.

Tomorrow, I am teaching 2 private lessons and giving a trunk show at their guild meeting. I think it is going to be the funnest day yet.

I just hope my poor husband can find something to do here while I am busy…..I am sure it won’t be a problem!

Happy Quilting!

Comments

  1. Valerie Larson says:

    sounds like a great gig!!! So glad you had such a great time-wish I could have been there!

  2. oh yeah….some gigs are MUCH rougher than others…good to have your team along..not that the beach scenery was on his mind…wink!

  3. Ooh, so fabulous! I wish I could have been there!

Leave a Reply

