The best advice I ever followed…….

was given to me by Pat Sloan. I had the pleasure of chatting with Pat at the Spring Quilt Market in SLC. I had asked her advice about quilting machine brands and during the conversation, I mentioned that I loved to teach and would love to go that route with my quilting.

She looked me in the eyes and said, “What are you doing here at market? You need to be teaching at the national quilting shows.” At least that is how I remember it, I tend to dramatize things in my mind though.

I had really never considered putting in a class proposal at a national quilting show, it seemed so far-fetched….so out of my league. But she was so gracious with her time and advice that I had to at least give it a try. So I put together a few class proposals…..and I GOT IN!!!!!

I will be teaching 3 classes at the Machine Quilters Exposition (East) in April 2012. MQX East takes place in Rhode Island and is a huge quilt show that is especially for machine quilters.

I will be teaching ‘Machine Quilting for the Modern Quilt”, “Techniques for Quilting Negative Space” and “Quilting Efficient” and I am thrilled.

Now before I finish the rest of this post….allow me to pull out my soap box…..for I shall do a little preaching…..are you ready??

More than once I have heard modern quilters moan that there aren’t any modern quilts in quilt shows. I have heard them mutter that there aren’t any classes for the modern quilter. I want to encourage you to check out the show, whether you quilt on a longarm quilting machine or a sewing machine. Consider entering a quilt in the show….even if you haven’t done it before. And, of course, I would love to have you come check out one of my classes. Ok….I am off my soapbox….for now!

Now….before you all run off to the website to register for all my classes (hey I can dream, can’t I?)……you will have to wait just a minute. The class schedule isn’t available yet. But you can be sure that I will let you know as soon as it is available.

Thank you to all my bloggy friends who have been so encouraging…..hugs!!!!!

And, because I think every blog post should have a picture, a totally unrelated but completely adorable picture of my youngest!

Comments

  1. Congratulations! Your classes sound terrific.

  2. Hi Angela, that is very exciting news for you! If only RI weren’t in the wrong hemisphere for me – I would love to attend one of your workshops!! Maybe in 2013 ill be able to justify it! (dreaming!) I understand what you mean about the modern quilt issue – I am aspiring to long arm quilt on modern quilts – I’m hoping there’s a growing market for this… And very sweet pic of your little one – looks about the same age as my youngest! Danielle x

  3. Hi from South Carolina! I am facinated by your work. Ever consider an internet class? I would love to just see you in action…please?

  4. Way to go! I’ll definitely take your class if I can figure out a way to get there….the west coast would be easier for me to make, so I’m hopeful you will teach there as well. I love your work and am honestly surprised that you haven’t started teaching at the big shows before now!

  5. Looks like you will have to come to Australia!
    You can stay with me or Kelli!

  6. Congratulations on getting your class proposals accepted! How exciting! 🙂

  7. congrats- you are a true inspiration to a girl who would very much like to follow in your footsteps- go for your dreams and rock the teaching world- if it were in California you could certainly count me in… someday I hope to get to take a class from you!!

  8. You are amazing I wished that our lives could cross path and we could be friends. CONGRATULATIONS!!!

  9. Congratulations – that’s exciting! Can’t wait to hear more about it.

  10. runandsewquilts says:

    Congratulations on teacherhood! Your quilting is most excellent and your classes will fill fast!

  11. That’s wonderful news! Congrats Angela! And what great ideas for classes too!

  12. she’s a super cutie, angela!! and congrats on the classes!

  13. Absolutely about time, Angela! I had wondered why you weren’t teaching at MQS in Overland Park. And I will keep your words of encouragement in my mind; maybe I’ll pull them out sometime! (missed you at KCMQG this month as well. . .)

  14. way to go!!! Now I need to have you quilt something for me before you are too famous to do regular quilts.. wink!

Leave a Reply

