Quilting is the funnest part!

Quilting is the funnest part, esepcially when my quilting ends up on the cover of a book!

I met Jenifer, the author of the soon-to-be released book ‘Quilt Retro’ at a meeting of the Kansas City Modern Quilt Guild. She asked me if I would like to quilt some quilts for her book……uhhhh, of course! I can’t show you any of the quilts yet, but one of the quilts I quilted made it on the cover. It’s not the main part of the cover, but it is the quilt on the left side. So I guess if I am being honest, my quilt made it on part of the cover……LOL!
Once her book is out, I will be a part of the blog tour and will get to show you a very neat modern quilt I quilted for her!

Here is a little blurb from her blog, in which she talks about how the concept for the book came about:

Let me tell you the history and evolution of this book. A couple of years ago, I discovered Modern quilting. At first I thought Modern was for the young, beginning quiltmakers. I truly didn’t think there was anything there for me. But as I did some research and really looked at what they were doing, I realized that they were making the quilts I always wanted to make but didn’t think I could! (I used to be so hung up on labels – “I’m a traditional quilter,” I used to tell myself. “I can’t deviate from that path!”)

At first, I tentatively drew up some designs. Mine tend to be very graphic in nature. I have a graphic design background and have always loved that look, so it was natural for me to gravitate in that direction. These first designs were so “out there” for me that I put them away denied they even existed for a long time! Then I found the KC Modern Quilt Guild and went to a meeting. Wow! These women were wonderful (and some my age!). They were making the quilts I wanted to make with abandon. I went home after that and dug out my designs and reworked them a bit and voila! Many you will see in the book. Others I’m still working on and hope they hit the fabric some day.

Happy Quilting!

Comments

  1. Jeannette says:

    I can’t wait to see the book, it looks awesome!!

  2. How exciting to be able to see your work in a book! The book cover looks gorgeous, can’t wait to see what’s inside!!

  3. How fun! Congratulations!

  4. Congratulations! And well deserved 🙂

  5. Georgieanna says:

    You are AWESOME and i am very proud of you!!!!!

Leave a Reply

