Quilt Retro Blog Tour

I am excited to be the next stop of the Quilt Retro blog tour.

When Jenifer, the author, contacted me about quilting some of the quilts in the book, of course I said yes. Since then she has become not only a client but a great friend.

Her third book Quilt Retro, is a bright and fun book featuring modern quilts with a retro flair.

Quilt Retro~ Written by Jenifer Dick

One of my favorite quilts in the book is the handyman quilt. With tons of negative space, I was able to do a lot of quilting!

I took a few close up pictures when I was finished quilting it.


Check out Jenifer’s blog to read more about the book and the handyman quilt.

One lucky reader will win two potholders from Quilt Retro. Just leave a comment telling me what colors you would make the Handyman quilt in. I will draw a winner in a week! Good luck!

To order your own copy of Quilt Retro, visit Pickledish or Amazon

The next stop on the blog tour is on Monday with Jacquie Gering of Tallgrass Prairie Studio.

Hope you have a happy weekend!

Comments

  1. SewLindaAnn says:

    Maybe because it’s Fall and the mornings are cool and fresh, I’d go with shades of brown and cream.

  2. This is such a stunning design and your quilting is fantastic! I I love how you made the interweaving of the carpenter’s block stand out with the order of your quilting. As to colors I would use: I love these muted tones and would likely be inclined to do the same, but I am wondering what it would look like done in brilliant colors a la some of the Greek Key wallpaper borders from the 1860s. An old is modern moment.

  3. I love the detailed quilting on this quilt!!! If I were to make my own version, I might use a bright pink and shades of gray.

  4. Angela, your quilting s gorgeous as usual! I want a copy of the book just so I can study the quilting.

    If I were to make a version of this pattern I’d do it in subtle shades of wheat, grey, and taupe.

  5. Love the quilt. I’d probably try it in black and white with some red or lime green thrown in. Thanks for the opportunity to win this book!

  6. HI! I would make this quilt in light gray, creamy yellow and white!

  7. How interesting! I attended your KCMQG show last weekend and blogged about that quilt (among others). I love your quilting. Great job!

    http://flourishingpalms.blogspot.com/2011/10/i-think-you-like-seeing-quilts-from.html

  8. I would make the quilt in blues! Thanks for the give away chance!

  9. I think I would do mine in denim blue since it is for a handyman. Hope I win a copy!!!!

  10. I love your pebble quilting!
    I would use grey and aqua
    Thanks!!

  11. greens and grey! very, very light grey.

  12. I would use a large scale grey floral…and kona cherise cotton for the bars. Thanks for the chance to win this book.

  13. I would use the colors black and blue – that’s how I end up when I try to be a handyman! – Cathy L

  14. Handyman quilt …. yep, I would also have to do it in either shades of brown and cream OR shades of blue (denim sounds good) and cream. Hey, you did call it a Handyman quilt so it should look masculine, no? By the way, your quilting is fantastic!!!

  15. black, gray, and purple. Thanks for the chance to win!

  16. Althemese B says:

    I would use brown, tan, and teal. Thanks for a chance to win.

  17. I’d like to see it in sage greens and tan. I could also see the elements being done in old plaid shirts.

    shelly r

    geez bees 75 at gmail dot com

  18. I would make the Handyman quilt in shades of purple, my favourite colour. Thanks for the giveaway.

  19. Judy Barber says:

    I so wish I could quilt like you do – oh, it is just too late to do all the practicing to get that perfection.

    If I were making the quilt, my newest favorite color is taupe and grays and off white. Somewhere I would stick in a little splash of color.

    As I am getting older I find I love the more modern quilts and enjoy making them. And then they sit waiting for some inspiration to quilt them (but I do love the big circles).

  20. I would make it in aqua and red!

  21. Fall colors would be perfect for this time of year. This book looks so awesome!

  22. Heather Acton says:

    I’d use silvery grey, black, white and scarlet. Those are the colours of my son’s college lacrosse team. And since they’re The Knights”, I’d applique a knight on somewhere. Or, to be more subtle, I’d include a knight quilting pattern. He’d love such a quilt! Thanks for the idea.

  23. Karyn Ashley-Smith says:

    Deep Blue and White or Olive Green & Tan (My grandfather always wore Green Dickies….hardworking color in my mind!) or just simply Black & White. Thanks!

  24. What a beautiful quilt!!
    I would make the Handyman Quilt in gray, with varying shades & designs of dark orange.

  25. I really like the grey black white shown in the book
    I would love to see the quilt in 3 shades of a blue/grey

  26. Grays and yellows are my avorite right now!

  27. If I were to make this quilt then would choose colors of denim, plumber’s green, khaki, and for fun, perhaps some grey – All the work pants colors.

  28. What a cool quilt! I would make it in black, grey and red! Thanks for a great giveaway! 🙂

  29. Red and orange… With a tiny bit of white… Orange is my new therapy lately!

    Cheers! Linda at http://www.quti.org

  30. I’d go with Orange. It’s cheery, energetic, and optimistic.

    Thanks for asking, and for the giveaway.

    wordygirl at earthlink dot net

  31. red and black!

  32. Lisa Marie says:

    Lately I’ve been very fond of yellow, grey, black and white together. I’d like to make the Handyman quilt pattern in those colors.

  33. Joyce Mitchell says:

    Love the quilt pattern. Your quilting is fabulous. I’d make this quilt in greens so I could use it in my bedroom. Thanks for the giveaway.

  34. Periwinkle and coral as I have always wanted as quilt in these colors. Thanks for this wonderful opportunity. Judy C

  35. My favorite color is blue, so I would make the quilt in shades of bleu, with some white and a splash of red. But I think this quilt will look great in any color.

  36. damn girl, your quilting is so amazing it makes me cry.

    I’d make that handyman quilt in greys, yellow and a touch of green. Then I’d send it to you and you could make it look awesome 😉

  37. Love the HandyMan quilt. If I were to make I’d probably go with grays and an extra color of maybe lime.

  38. gorgeous book! I would make the handy man in mustard, grey and magenta!

  39. lovely! i’d choose apricot with white ~ thank you for the potholder giveaway! what an honour to have these handmade treats !!

  40. Bethany C. says:

    Fabulous quilt! I’d go with greys and a splash of a yellow.

  41. Amazing quilting! Inspiring book! I would use turquoise, red and white 🙂

  42. Blue and white. Thanks for the giveaway!

  43. I love the gray, white and black look – it is very classy.

  44. Newbie Quilter says:

    My choice would be a green, cream and dark brown palette. Thanks for the chance!!

  45. I would love to make one in red and aqua.

  46. I’d make it in navy blue, faded blue, and just a bit of red paisley, for a working man Quilt.

    • Way to go, Bev! You are so industrious! I hpoped over to Very Jane to take a look. I’d never heard of them. Thanks for the link. Love the idea of making these from other items as well, like the pocket squares, tablecloths and baby clothes. Such a great keepsake.

Trackbacks

  1. […] Friday 10/7: Angela Walters of Quilting is My Therapy. […]

Leave a Reply

