Modern Mix Blog Tour

Welcome to the latest stop of the Modern Mix blog tour!

Modern Mix, written by Jessica Levitt, shows how you can mix solid fabrics with prints to make quilts and other projects that will look stunning.

When Jessica contacted me to quilt for her book, I didn’t know what the book was about. Up to that point, I hadn’t really quilted a lot of quilts made with solid fabrics. But with input from Jessica, I quickly found out that I really loved it!

One of my favorite quilts in the book was the Pebble Road quilt, I love the way that the different size circles breaks up the negative space on the quilt, without being too distracting.

I also had the pleasure of asking Jessica some questions about the book.

Me: What part of the book writing process was your favorite? Your least favorite?

Jessica: My favorite part was the sewing.  For example the Twin String Quilts took quite a bit of time to piece, but I really enjoyed just getting to sit at my machine and put something together.  Most quilters will understand the satisfaction of that.  I can remember one early summer evening with the window open, a nice breeze blowing in, and my machine humming, and I was thinking to myself “oh yeah, this is why I love this so much”.  
And, of course, getting to see the whole thing put together with the design and photos for the first time was amazing.

My least favorite part was the checking, and re-checking, and re-checking my calculations.  But it had to be done…

Me: Do you find that using solid fabrics make designing a quilt pattern easier or harder.

Jessica: Definitely easier, at least when combined with prints.  You can always come up with the exact right color and shade of a solid to use, which isn’t always the case with prints. So I feel like it’s easier to be sure you’ll get the outcome you had planned.  And solids simplify and often modernize a design.  They add a clean look you can’t get any other way.

Me: What piece of advice would you give someone who is wanting to write a book?

Jessica: Go for it, but definitely take your time.  It’s such a big commitment, that you have to make sure it’s the right time in your life for it and it’s not something to be rushed into.  Planning ahead and doing lots of the work early will save you a ton of stress later.  When I write my next book I will absolutely do more of the sewing and writing before I even submit a proposal!

One of my lucky readers will win a copy of Modern Mix, just leave a comment telling me if you like sewing with solids or not.

Be sure to check out the next stops on the blog tour:
10/12/2011-Stitch Magazine Blog
10/13/2011-Oh Fransson
10/14/2011-Gen Q Magazine
10/15/2011-Quilt Dad
10/16/2011-Confessions of a Craft Addict
10/17/2011-Amy’s Creative Side
10/18/2011-Pink Chalk Studio
10/19/2011-Connecting Threads Blog
10/20/2011-Keepsake Quilting blog

Comments

  1. Judy Barber says:

    In the past year I have started working with solids. I find I like the ‘clean’ look. I had bought some red and green fabric solids to make a tablecloth and instead of what I intended to do, have now started following a blog with a pattern but instead of using all the fabric, I am only using parts and it gives the feeling of floating. LOVE it.

  2. i sew with solids as often as possible!

  3. I just discovered working with solids this past year and I love, love, love them! I think one of the things I love most is the blank canvas they provide to showcase the quilting!

  4. I have not sewn much with solids but it’s something I plan to do.My great-aunts used solids mixed with prints in their gorgeous scrappy quilts and it really adds a lot to the design of the quilt.Sort of gives a place for the eyes to rest in between all the prints.Would love to win a copy of the new book for the inspiration. Love your blog!

  5. I enjoy sewing with solids as I do not have a lot of confidence in my print fabric choices and this pretty much takes the scary part out – but I still try to use prints with the solids. It does seem to be much easier with the wide assortment of solids we have to choose from. Thanks.

  6. I love working with both, the solids can highlight the prints and add a balance or “grounding” to the project.

  7. I love working with solids. I wanted to do so when I first starting quilting, but was steered away by the lack of solids available at my LQS. Now I can find them easier, but I have to get most of them online.

  8. Making my fy first project with solids now: a Mexican inspired western skirt with pieced rows ruffled onto a skirt yoke. It’s modern indeed. Next, Denise Schmidt inspired baby quilts. Look forward to seeing this book for more inspiration!

  9. I am definately using solids more these days. Before I had a color card, I didn’t. My local shops have limited colors so the color card was a must for ordering online.
    Thanks for the chance to a win a book!

  10. i can’t wait to read this book! and i love solids, but i usually combine them with prints.

  11. I really have come to love using solids in my quilts. I would love to win a copy of this book!

  12. Great interview. Sewing with solids is fun!

  13. I LOVE sewing with solids and have quite a stash of them now. More and more companies are producing them too, so almost every color I can think of is available now.

    I also LOVE the look of this book! Thx for the chance to win.

  14. I haven’t sewn with many solids yet but it is on my to do list!! I hope I win a copy of this awesome book!

  15. Great q+a! I like sewing with solids and look forward to seeing the projects in this book.

  16. I love sewing with solids and especially a mix of solids and prints.

  17. I definitely LACK solids in my stash. I tend to go for the big bold prints, and then go GAH when I try to find fabric to blend! So my goal is to stock up on solids … and small dots, stripes, and checks. Your blog is awesome! Thanks for the give-away!

  18. I’m building my solid stash right now. I love the look and would love to add this book to my library.

  19. I’ve just recently started adding solids back in. I used to only want to use “solid-ish” material – moda marbles, hand-dyed solids, etc. because I thought a plain solid would be boring. But now I’ve seen the light, as is evident from my recent Kona order… 🙂 I’m even more excited to learn about how to incorporate them from this book!

  20. Gorgeous quilting, as usual! I’ve been getting more and more interested in solids. I don’t think I’m ready to take the all solids plunge yet, though. I just love prints too much!

  21. I love this quilt with round to. Sorry I am French and speak not good english.
    But I love your quilt…
    Best regards from France. Sandrine

  22. I sew with solids to break up the patterns in prints. Solids keep your eye flowing and give it a place to rest.

  23. I’ve only recently ‘discovered’ solids! At the moment I’m making a ‘Zen Chic’ quilt in solids

  24. Carolyn Slappey says:

    I am looking forward to finishing the quilt I’m currently working on because I’ve recently purchased a bunch of solids, and can’t stop thinking about a million ways I’d like to use them.

  25. I’m using solids more than ever.

  26. The only solids I have used have been batiks – tone on tone. So not a true solid. They do give the quilts a gorgeous look though. I will definitely be trying them in the near future.

  27. I love sewing with solids! They seem to give anything a modern look.

  28. I love sewing with solids! I really need more of them in my stash, maybe in their own section instead of mixed in with my prints. Just picked up 5 yards of solids at a sale and nearly finished my bolt of (my favorite) Kona Medium Grey over the weekend.

  29. I am new to quilting so I am trying everything. This book would help me jump into using solids more. Thanks for the giveaway!

  30. I come and go with solids. I like a calm spot, but there can be too much of a good thing for my personal taste. I’m also always scared about die lot variation – that the navy I buy to finish off won’t exactly match the navy that I already have.

  31. I love solids. The first “real” quilt I made was Amish inspired and made entirely with solids. I’m into the more modern look now and love the fabulous prints that are available. The solids make those prints “pop” in quilts.

  32. I love solids! My Kona colour card is so handy for mixing solids in with my favourite collections. I have yet to make an all solids quilt, but I wank to make a plus quilt in greens & purple…someday…when there is time!

  33. Oh my yes!! I love sewing with solids! 🙂

  34. Definitely love working with solids – the quilts I see with large solid spaces really seem to bring out the quilting!

  35. I have considered solids breaking the rules for many years. Recently I have discovered that this was not the case and love it. I just wish I had been using them all these years. They really add a fresh look to quilts and love it.

  36. I haven’t really been using solids in my quilting except for bindings up until now, but I think I’m going to have to start; I love the clean look it give you!

  37. I haven’t done anything yet with solids although I did just buy quite a few about two months ago. I haven’t decided what to do with them yet so I don’t know if they’ll be going into a quilt with prints or be a solid quilt. I’ve seen some gorgeous all solids quilts so I’m sure I would love to make one as much as a print quilt.

  38. Solids=!!!!
    this book is so my style! Thank you!

  39. Caroline C says:

    I have sewn with solids, but I ususally throw a “splash” of color with them. My favorite “solid” quilt, was one I made my grandson last year for Christmas. I had some black & white postcards laying around, and sewed a red one together with 8 of the b&w and put it on a charcoal background. Used red, black, & grey thread for some random squiggly quilting.

  40. I’m a huge lover of large scale prints but am just now coming into the solid way of thinking. I see lots of possibilities combining both and look forward to trying it more and more. I have ideas for several all solid quilts as well. But where do you buy solids and how do you know colors for sure when buying online?

  41. I love solids, especially mixing them in with a few of my favorite prints. I haven’t had the courage to create an entire project from solids yet, but hopefully someday!

  42. I have gone from prints, to tone-on-tone to now using some solids in with my tone-on-tones. I am find ing the pattern is more evident with the solids. Thanks for this wonderful opportunity to win this fabulous book. Judy C

  43. I think sewing with solids can really make an impact on a quilt. I only use them in areas I want to emphasize or set apart though. I do sew with a lot of tone on tones or tiny prints that read more as solids though.

  44. I’m new to quilting and so far haven’t done much with solids, but looking at the pictures from this book, it’s about time I started…

  45. I don’t have many solids; prints are usually what catches my eye. Maybe I need to reevaluate this 🙂

  46. I do like some solids… I haven’t worked to much in just solids yet (new to the quilting world). But I like to mix some solids with some prints! This book looks fabulous! Thanks for a chance to win! 🙂

  47. I do like solids and I’ve been trying to have more in my stash. 🙂 Thanks for the chance to win!

  48. I love sewing with solids (especially since it usually costs less $$) but I need to get better at it!!! Which is why i NEEEEED this book! haha
    Thanks for the chance to win it before I buy it for myself for Christmas 🙂

  49. I made my first quilt with solids – called “Almost Solids” by Kaye England. The “almost” derives from a small striped border and binding, and a small star navy backing. The rest of the quilt is solid. This turned out well and so I’m intending to use more solids.

  50. I haven’t worked a lot with solids yet, but I have enjoyed what I’ve done so far! Thank you for the opportunity!

  51. Oh, good question. I tend to use a lot of Kaffe like fabrics so throwing in a solid or two really calms down a beautiful but busy quilt.

  52. Keri Puglisi says:

    I have worked more with prints & solids together, but I LOVE the look. My son has asked me for a quilt, so I think this may be my opportunity. thanks for the chance to win!

  53. I love sewing with solids, and near-solids like hand-dyes and shot cottons. There are so many different shades available now days and the cottons are excellent quality.

  54. I love solids, especially mixed with some prints! I love the quilt on the cover of the book.

  55. I haven’t sewn with solids but it is something I definitely want to try.

  56. I have seen some wonderful modern quilts made with solids. I can’t wait to make one myself.

  57. i absolutely love the look of solids, but i am so drawn to the prints when i get to the fabric store that i forget about the end result. i definitely am vowing to do solids for my next quilt though!

  58. Lisa in Texas says:

    I have recently started sewing with solids and really like the look they give…especially the white and snow Kona solids! Lisa in Texas

  59. I’m newish to all of this quilting stuff but have been reading for much longer than I’ve been doing. I’m increasingly interested in solids. I sometimes prefer a quilt for a “quiet eye”. But mostly I like mixing prints with solids. The solids quiet down some of the crazy busy-ness of some prints. Even some simple prints (dots, stripes, tone on tone, textures) mute the crazy patterns a bit so I like using those, too. There I go sounding like someone who knows. Ha! Maybe I can speak more authoritatively in a few years.

  60. Lisa Marie says:

    I do like sewing with solids but it is only a recent development. So far I haven’t done a quilt in ALL solids, but the modern quilts I’ve seen online and in books have gotten me interested. Now an all solid quilt is on my (very long) To Do list.

  61. I have always loved working with solid fabrics. They remind me of all the beautiful quilt the Amish make. Just amazing work they do. Thanks for the chance to win 😀

  62. I LOVE sewing with solid fabrics & have made a couple of all-solid quilts. I plan to make more too! Thanks for the giveaway.

  63. I am trying to get the energy to work on my solids quilt. I am hoping it turns out how I picture it in my head, but you know how that goes. I am in love with my fabric stack, so I guess I would say that yes, I love working with solids. 🙂

  64. Love sewing with solids. I’m guessing it’s becoming more popular since more companies are putting out solids. Used to be just Kona.

  65. I definitely need to add more solids to my stash! I want to experiment with using solids and minimal amounts of prints to add “pop”. This book would really help–thanks for the opportunity to win a copy.

  66. I first worked with solids when Robert Kaufman sponsored the MQG charm pack challenge, and I’ve been hooked ever since. I’ve only done straight line quilting so far, but I hope to grow my skills in that area.

  67. Yes, I do like solids but don’t use them a lot. I like prints better. I like to mix and match.

  68. Tess Holland says:

    I LOVE solids! I have some prints, but they tend to be just a dash here and there to break it up. The negative space and freedom to quilt as I please just draw me to use the solids, as well as the fact that I can make my own “prints” with small, scrappy piecing of them. And it does help that they tend to be a little kinder on the wallet…

  69. I like to add a little bit of solids just to balance prints and it’s usually grunge solids by Basic Grey.

  70. I’ve only done 1 quilt with solids. I wasn’t sure at first, but in the end I loved how it turned out!!

  71. Allison C says:

    I love using white, black, or gray backgrounds, but haven’t done a full solids YET. I plan on doing a drunkards path quilt with solids in the next couple of weeks. Yay!

  72. Joyce Mitchell says:

    I haven’t sewn with just solids – but I’ve started using them as a strong accent or as a crisp background. Hope I win this great new book. Thanks for the giveaway.

  73. Every now and then I love to sew solids by themselves and every now and then I love to sew patterns by themselves, but I’m ALWAYS happy when I sew with both together.

  74. When I first began quilting, I went through an amish-quilt-wanna-be phase, and used exclusively solids. Then I fell in love with the pattern mixes a la Kaffe Fasset. More recently I’ve been liking my designs that are about 2/3 surface area solid and about 1/3 prints. Great book!

  75. I love solids, I like working with them. I made a striped wall hanging from solids, a Beyer pattern. Thanks for a chance to win.

  76. I’m starting to use solids. They do help tone down my loud wild prints. I haven’t made anything using just solids yet but I’ll get there.

  77. SewLindaAnn says:

    I do like sewing with solids at lot and have many colors and shades from the Kona collection. Sometimes I mix and sometimes I just like to play with solids. I find it calming and just fresh.

  78. I have never done anything that is JUST solids but I am seeing more of it out there and am strangely intrigued! I am working on including them into more things so maybe I’ll get to an all solid work yet! Thanks.

  79. i like the balance of solids when sewing, so , yes. for me, they’re kind of essentials…

  80. I enjoy working with solids – but, I tend to do a lot of mixing – solids and prints!!!

    nhsarab at yahoo dot com

  81. I am just getting into quilting, but I am definitely loving solids. I like using one main pattern to showcase, then solids to define it. Thanks for the chance!

  82. Love solids! But it’s a new love!

  83. Jodi Guerrero says:

    I guess you could say I’m, or was a traditional quilter. But, my eyes have been opened! I have not sewn with big pieces of solids yet, but it is on the to-do list.

    Thanks for the giveaway and a chance to win.

    usairdoll(at)gmail(dot)com

  84. I am just beginning to sew with solids, and am loving seeing how the colors play off each other. Thanks much for the giveaway.

  85. I would love to sew with solids, but haven’t taken the plunge yet! I think one thing that really (mentally) holds me back is my lack of training in free motion quilting, and a shortage of long-arm quilters in my city. I would love to use more solids, but without the beautiful quilting, I hesitate!

  86. I use a lot of tone on tone batiks like solids, but don’t usually use solids, other than black. But I’m a longarmer, and after seeing how your quilting shines on a solid fabric, I might have to change my mind!

  87. I just started quilting about a year ago. Thanks to the internet and to some wonderful blogs- I have learned soooo much! Still have alot more to learn but loving every minute of it! The only solids I have used so far is for the background colors so I do need to learn more about those. This book would be a great start! Thanks for the giveaway!

  88. Up to now I’ve only really used solids in the “Amish style” context but do have an Amy Butler pattern all kitted up for the future that will use all dusty solid colors.

    This book appeals to me because lately I have been noticing/drawn to all the new books coming out that are showcasing the “modern” style of quilting which I am curious to understand better.

    Thanks for a chance at getting the book!

  89. I love sewing with solid!

  90. I like sewing with solids because it shows off the quilting texture that is created better than a print. Thanks for hosting the giveaway.

  91. I don’t use solids very often but these pictures inspire me to try to use them more often.

  92. kim mcintosh says:

    So far I have only sewed curtains (just finished 3 roman shades in amy butlers lotus flowers)… I really really want to start quilting and think I will use a mix of prints and solids
    mcintosh dot kimberley at gmail dot com

  93. I don’t really have much experience sewing with solids although it looks like it may be something fun to try. I guess it’s next on my list!

  94. When I started quilting 25 years ago I mostly worked with solids because they were beautiful and affordable. Nowadays I like to combine solids with modern, printed fabrics.

  95. I do like sewing with solids, there is a lot of versatility with what one can do.

  96. I like sewing with solids and prints both!

  97. I have also developed a love affair with solids. How could i ever think they were boring! Silly me. This book looks like it is full of wonderful projects. Thanks for the opportunity to win.

  98. I love solids. Patterns scare me! I always worry i’ll go off the pattern or it won’t look like I imagine so I run back to my solids!!

  99. I do like to sew with solid but I still like prints better !

  100. I enjoy adding solids to tone down some of the prints I sew with.

  101. I use primarily vintage fabrics in my quilts, and I am happy to say that I have been collecting vintage solids for a long time, even if I have not been using them up until now. But now I am going to start and add them more often. Amazing – I have been quilting for about 40 years now (yes, I am that old) and think I have seen everything, but still there is new stuff. Great.

  102. I’m enjoying working with solids more and more as my confidence with FMQ increases. SO much fun!

  103. I have not had much opportunity to use solids as I mostly scrap quilt but I do love to mix in the occasional solid into my work.

  104. I have just recently discovered how fun it is too sew with solids. I was inspired after reading the 2 Liberated Quilting books by the talented Gwen Marston! I am hooked and am now building my stash of solids!!1

  105. Shawna G. says:

    I’m new to quilting and have not yet sewn wiith solid fabrics. After seeing some of this book and other quilts using solids, I’m anxious to give it a go.

    Thanks for the giveaway and a chance to win.

    missmoozie(at)gmail(dot)com

  106. I really enjoy sewing with solids. It’s a big change in my quilting to use them since I had always been told it’s better to pick tone-on-tone fabrics because of the interest they add to quilts.

    I’m glad Jessica found success publishing her book. I’ve done all the hard work of writing the book and haven’t found a publisher. It’s not as easy for some of us as it is for her. Thanks for the chance to win your giveaway

  107. I do enjoy sewing with solids. I’ve learned to love solids more and more lately. It’s classic and clean looking. Thanks for sharing about the book.

  108. I love solids, I like things to stay calm.

  109. I really want to be sewing with solids, yet when it comes to actually doing a project, I find myself shying away. Would love this book for inspiration!

  110. I typically go with muted patterns as my solids instead of real solids…looks like this would be great inspiration, though!

  111. Henria O. says:

    Sure! I love sewing with solids! I believe that solids help keep things at an even balance.

  112. i love working with solids! quilts that are entirely prints can look too busy sometimes, solids help break that up a bit.

    i’m really excited about this book because the quilts in it look fantastic – both the designs and the quilting. congratulations!

  113. I have not done any sewing with solids but my next quilt will be using solids only!

  114. I have recently done a few projects with just solids and I really loved using them.

  115. I have worked mostly with prints, but I love the contemporary bold statement made by solids. Would love to win the book, and give it a try.

  116. Yes, I like sewing with solids. I have a quilt planned using just solids.

  117. Yes. Solid blocks of color are a wonderful design element in the quilting arsenal.

  118. Debra Lee says:

    Solids seem to be my go to fabric!

  119. I have found a new appreciation for solids. Thanks for sharing!

  120. I love sewing with solids! It’s a great way to showcase prints!

  121. I like a mix of solids and patterns, although I prefer working with solids.

  122. I like to sew with solids!

  123. I have been gravitating towards solids more and more. My current WIP is all solids, and I am mulling over ideas in my head for another all-solid quilt.

  124. I’ve had a busy week and just catching up on the blog tour. Some of my favorite quilts using all solids are the Amish quilts. They use such bright vivid colors and are always eye-catching. Whenever I see one, it inspires me I should give one a try, but that project is on my long to-do list.

  125. i am liking solids more and more, though it is a process, and a challenge!

  126. I try to put at least one solid in every quilt I make. I guess that means I like solids.

  127. I actually like sewing more with patterned fabric more. There are just so many awesome ones to pick from! But I’m slowly realizing that sometimes you do need a solid to break things up.

  128. This is the direction I am travelling in at the moment, to incorporate more solid colours..ever since I became aware of the great range of solid fabrics available.I think it is cleaner and crisper for the contemporary style of quilting and a versatility that prints can lack.

  129. Laura Tawney says:

    What I first started quilting it was not something really considered except as sashings etc …….. I find I really like solids and I’m looking forward to moving more in that direction and would love to win a copy of the book. I
    would love to see more of your quilting in the book!

    LauraT

  130. I am just making mt first quilt using solides. But i could really use this book to help me progress

  131. I haven’t done much with solids but I’ve recently decided I need to build up a stash of solids so I can start incorporating them more.

  132. One of the funnest things I have done recently is go to the quilt shop and get 1/4 yard each of about 35 different solids in all value ranges. Just sorting the colors made me happy and the thought of designing with them makes me giddy. Would really love this give-away. Modern Mix is so refreshing and different. It’s a gotta have book.

  133. I love modern colors and blocks!!! Would love to have this book to start my collection!!!

  134. I love sewing with solids. To me, they can tie a whole piece together.

  135. I love solids and the wonderful colors that Kona offers. The book looks great!

  136. I have been quilting for a while now but solids are a pretty new thing to me. This book would make me want to give solids a try.

  137. I love sewing with solids. I am making some little girl aprons with solid frills at the bottom. Pomegranate is my favourite. solid frills sounds funny!!!

  138. I love using solids mixed with prints. I can’t imagine not throwing in a solid here or there!

  139. I just recently fell in love with Kona solids!!! It would be awesome to win this book to do my first quilt using some of my solids!!! thank you for the chance to win!

  140. I am really starting to get into sewing with solids, I used to just use them in sashing and borders but now I see all the wonderful mixing it up with patterns I am trying that tool

  141. Karen Linton says:

    I love sewing with solids! Especially to accent and show off prints.

  142. Nancy Sue says:

    Being a fairly new quilter, I admit that I tend to hesitate with the world of solids. I just fall back into my comfort zone of prints with the false sense of security that prints hide mistakes, and solids feature mistakes. I think as I quilt more and more, I’ll be using more solids and expanding my comfort zone.

  143. I’m a new quilter and I like working with solids.

  144. Cool! Never thought much about modern quilts or that they exist- but, that’s pretty!

Leave a Reply

