What do you think?

When I am quilting a quilt, I love to do what is best for the quilt. But when that quilt is going to be published in a book, I put even more thought and work into it. For instance, with the quilts that were in “Quilt Retro”, I enjoyed quilting a lot of different designs to help compliment the quilt pattern.

But soon after I finished quilting those quilts, another Longarm quilter mentioned to me that when she is quilting a quilt for a book she likes to make the designs easy enough that most quilters could recreate the quilt. I had never really thought about it that way. I always assumed that the quilting was meant to compliment the design, but also to provide “eye candy”. Not to intimidate a quilter but to inspire the quilter.

So what do you think? When you are purchasing a book or looking at quilt patterns, do you prefer the quilting to be more on the easier side? Or do you like more intricate quilting? There are definitely no right or wrong answers, I am just curious.

And since I haven’t had a giveaway in ahwile, how about I have one now? If you weigh in with your opinion, you will be entered to win a kona color card and a quilter’s journal. I will randomly select a winner next tuesday!

Comments

  1. I prefer the eye-candy! I’m a quilter, so I have an imagination–I don’t need someone to show me what straight lines or an all over panto will look like–I’ve seen that on my own stuff. I want to get some ideas for really making my quilt look fabulous–like it should be in its own book! The quilting should enhance and show off a great looking quilt pattern and fabric selection.

  2. Wow this is an interesting topic because to me I got inspired not only by the quilt but also by the quilting. I think I look for what it works best for the quilt. It might be simple, or complicated but if it woks it works.
    By the way I am always inspired by your work

  3. i love your quilting, and think you did a fabulous job on the quilts for that book (as did sheryl)! i never try to “recreate” a project in a book exactly – i want to make my own quilt, but i like to be inspired by what i see in books and online.

  4. That’s a really good question. I had never thought about that, either. As a longarm quilter, I love looking at the intricate designs for inspiration (meaning what I aspire to be able to do someday). And also as a longarm quilter, I like putting quilting on a quilt that enhances the quilt’s design. It really pains me when a customer gives me a quilt to quilt that really begs for something “fancy”, and then says: “Just give it an all-over meander”. I think the quilting should enhance the quilt, and I’m all for the eye candy and inspiration.

  5. Eye candy! I think it’s nice to see the quilting break away from an allover pattern. Plus there are advocates for home quilting out there that would argue that you can do any pattern on a home machine versus a long-arm – in both cases, you need practice! And I’m going to assume that if the project designer is sending the quilt to you, they’re expecting to see signature Angela work, so it’s a moot point anyway??

  6. I like eye candy. I like trying something new.

  7. sillyandrea says:

    Definitely going for the more intricate stuff these days. πŸ˜€

    (can’t wait for your book!)

  8. I don’t necessarily want easy, I want ideas and I want to learn and push myself. I love your quilting….it is inspiring.

  9. I’m in agreement with most other posts here in that I want to see the intricate and fabulous stuff you do!! Something to aspire to. As usual, beautiful work Angela!

  10. I love your quilting, I like looking at your intricate designs and how they give life to the quilt and I envy you a bit but then I think to my self one day ONE DAY!
    So I say choose your quilting after the design and if you want to why not mix it up, (some easier and some more intricate). Either way you should always stay true to yourself. /PETRA

  11. While I can’t do all the fancy stuff you do (yet!) I love to see it in inspiration quilts. I struggle with how to quilt my stuff most of the time and seeing it all put together in your quilting really helps.

  12. I definitely can agree with both sides. I totally get why she might say that a more “general” overall quilting design appeals to the masses…well…because it’s more attainable. We can’t all afford amazing custom quilting on every quilt (I haven’t been able to afford truly “custom” quilting EVER!) so having a design book full of that would not be good. But I. LOVE. looking at amazing quilting. I always love to dream about making the quilt that is worthy of that type of quilting…

  13. I definitely like when the quilting is more inspirational. So what if I can’t do it right now as a beginning quilter. I hope to one day be able to do that kind of quilting and so I love to see what people can really do. No need to hold back!

  14. Kim B Dolan says:

    As a longarm quilter I love to see more complex quilting…this realy make me think outside the box when I am presented with a quilt and asked to quilt it! Often times quilts are quilted in a manner I would have never thought of!!

  15. I’m all for the eye-candy! Even though it’s not necessarily something I could replicate on my domestic machine, I can take inspiration from fantastic long-arm work such as yours & go from there. Thanks for the giveaway.

  16. Seriously!, I just love to see the most creativity that a quilter person can do with a quilt. I like the quilter to absolutely enhance whatever she ‘sees’ to the max of her ability for making the quilt the best, like 100%…no holding back in my book.

  17. There are beginning quilting books for those intimidated by intricate quilting. For me, I’m beyond the beginning quilting stage and look for books that challenge and inspire me. I may never achieve some of the more difficult designs, but I can dream, right? I love the idea of the quilting being used to accent the quilt.

  18. I love your eye candy quilting!!

  19. I look everywhere for new ideas for quilting designs and how they look on different quilts. love the eye candy

  20. This is an interesting question…your quilting is extraordinary, and I love looking at quilting that is very artfully done…it’s lovely to look at and inspirational. What I have found, though, is that the densely quilted quilts are not snuggly…and I’d love to know how to make one soft and supple, yet have some of the density that has become the standard in quilt shows and in many books. If it’s possible, by using a specific batting, I’d love to know the secret. I recently found your blog and quilts, and am so inspired by you and other young quilters. Thanks!

  21. Laura Tawney says:

    Interesting question! When I’m looking at a quilt for me it’s the overall appeal of the quilt – design, construction, color, quilting. Then I look at individual elements to see what it is that is appealing to me. I like it when the quilting enhances the design and doesn’t overpower it but rather “adds” interest and highlights the elements you may want to bring out in the quilt.
    LauraT

  22. What a great quandry! I focus my work on the piecing, whether machine or applique, and leave the artistry of quilting to others. So for me, the quilting is an inspiration. If I were looking for quilting as part of the design I wish to replicate, I would expect to find diagrams for such quilting in the book as an instructional component in addition to piecing instructions.

    I love seeing your work – you inspire this historic-quilt-lubber to appreciate the contemporary quilters’ talents. Thanks for sharing what you do.

  23. I love the eye candy!!
    Keep rocking the quilting they way you do.
    I am a huge fan.

  24. I like the eye candy. I like seeing what I might some day be able to achieve!

  25. I just erased a long answer so I’ll summarize–the person/company who asked you to quilt did so because he/they felt your style was what was best for the quilt.
    You’ll always get two sides to this question so do whatever your intuition guides you to do or makes your heart flutter–it makes our hearts flutter tooβ™₯ that’s why we’re following you!! (and why some will love your eye candy and others will say it’s too much)

  26. Both. If I am making the quilt, then I want something that I may achieve, if I am just looking at the quilt for inspiration, then the eye candy. I love when a book shows two color or design options for a quilt, then quilting can be one thing that I can achieve and one for me to aspire too.

  27. Maureen from Ventura says:

    I think your quilting is amazing! I would more enjoy seeing something inspirational than something easily achieved.

  28. Definitely want Scrumptious Quilting! why else would we spend hours looking at it? There’s no sense of accomplishment if there’s no challenge and we all push the bar higher & higher.

  29. I have never seen quilting like yours before and seeing it was sort of a revelation. I have studied your quilting and I look at it as a learning tool to try to improve my own quilting. My quilting isn’t ever going to make news, but it is something I realize now that I can improve. I never looked at quilting as something to enhance the design or as part of the creative process of making a quilt. I’ve always looked at it as the last step to getting this baby finished! What would be really cool, but additional work for you, would be quilting a quilt both ways–one version simple and for instruction and one version where you let yourself go all out. Thanks for sharing your incredible work!

  30. I’m a total beginner and I LOVE looking at intricate quilting. It’s definitely eye candy and can still be inspirational even if there’s no way I could replicate it on a regular home sewing machine.

  31. Keep doing what you do, my friend! As the saying goes, “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!”

  32. I like both. I do like to see a design that I might be able to create but on the other hand, its neat to see the advanced machine quilting. I think the hardest part is visualizing the design on the quilt. By seeing such a wide variety in machine quilting skills, it helps the brain to see what all of the possibilities are.

  33. I really like this question, very thought provoking. I am fairly new to free motion quilting and don’t find your work to be intimidating, but very inspiring instead. To answer your question though- I think if the book is about quilting then it seems logical that the quilting should be achievable, but should still inspire readers, if it is about piecing then I think eye candy all the way- show the readers what a quilt can be with the best quilting possible. I have found that with some determination and lots of practice you can use your home machine to create real eye candy quilting- and if it weren’t for quilters like you I would never have been inspired to try.

  34. I’m a free-motion quilter, so I’m always on the look-out for designs I can create myself. It really doesn’t matter if they’re intricate because I can adjust them to suit my methods. I believe the quilting should compliment the quilt, just as you’re doing. Thanks for your inspiration! And for the chance to win a Kona color card. I’ve wanted one for a long time.

  35. While I really love to look at the beautiful, intricate quilting in others’ quilts, and would love to do it, I am intimidated as a newbie quilter. In a perfect world, we could see the intricate quilting, with a more simple alternative for us.

  36. When I look in a book for a pattern, I’m just looking to either (a) be inspired by the quilt top to make something similar (or different, depending on how the inspiration goes!), or (b) make the quilt top the same as the book.
    Either way, I’m not likely going to quilt it the same way it’s quilted in the book because I’m not that skilled of a quilter!

  37. I love eye candy! It is very inspiring! Thank you for sharing!

  38. I prefer something easier so I can try the quilt the design myself. I want to be inspired by the design.

  39. Definitely eye-candy! I don’t want to see easy, I want inspiring!

  40. I prefer to see quilting which shows off and complements the patchwork. I love seeing how intricate longarming can enhance the look of a quilt!

  41. I am very new to quilting…but I’ve been looking for a long time! My mom and grandmother both quilted and I hope to join their ranks even at this late point in life. I would think that most people can simplify designs that are beyond their current skills, with the goal to really still enhance the quilt…I love being inspired by the eye candy, even if I can’t do it now, and may never be able to, it’s what keeps me excited about the possibility of creating my own masterpiece someday.

  42. Eye candy all the way! To me quilting is another design element that adds to the visual interest of the overall quilt. I want it to be as prominent and well thought out as the workmanship and design.

  43. I absolutely love your way of quilting and echo all the other comments about continuing to do it the way you do it. What I find frustrating is when the author of the book just says “quilt and bind as desired”. The author should talk to you and then write about quilting options that you used and “why” or how to choose, perhaps with some close ups and diagrams of techniques that would be important to achieving the effect. It’s terrible to say, but many of the quilts you’ve done would be ok/fair with simpler quilting, but they become book worthy because of what you do to them (sorry authors!). You make them shine, and I so wish I could do what you do! I can’t wait for your book!

  44. I haven’t really thought about it, but I think I enjoy seeing things that it are possible for me to use. Not necessarily the exact same thing, but something that I could potentially aspire to. Great topic!

  45. Give me the candy! I can’t necessarily recreate what you’ve done, but that’s not what I do even with the quilt patterns in the book. I use books, patterns and tutorials as inspiration and leap from there.

  46. I like the complicated quilting more. I can always think of a way to do simpler quilting. It’s fun to see what the really awesome long arm quilters can do on some amazing quilts.

  47. I like the eye candy of the quilting. It inspires me to try. I also appreciate some guidance on how to come close to recreating the quilting. Thank you for the chance to win this great prize. Take care and God bless, Cory

  48. When I purchase a pattern, what I like to see is options of different quilt designs; something challenging, but yet doable. I like to see advanced quilting as eye candy as well, even though I’m not there (yet).
    The most frustrating, I agree with the comment above me, “quilt as desire” as part of the pattern.

  49. Eye Candy!! That’s what makes me want to buy a book!

  50. I like eye candy. It inspires me to practice and gives me new ideas. Can’t wait for your new book to come out!

  51. I think that when you (as in you the quilter) create quilting that really compliments the design of the quilt, it doesn’t matter if it’s a simple pattern or a difficult one, it opens my eyes to what might help me enhance my own quilts. I don’t have a long arm, but I definitely love the effect of the quilting on the overall look of the quilt and think about it and am inspired by what others have done. When I look at the pictures you’ve posted, particularly the one with the half circles where you’ve echoed the shape in your quilting, I think that’s a wonderful look and a great choice for that area, and also something I could do on one of my own quilts. So, all this to say, do what you think best compliments the quilt and people of all levels can be inspired by it.

  52. I think a balance of the two options would be great… so I can envision what it might look like it I finished the quilt myself AND if I want to take it to the next level, what that particular designers work looks like with professional quilting.

  53. Doable eye candy?

    How’s that for ambivalence? When we were quilting our quilts for the book we tried to do both. Obviously we don’t have your skills, but we wanted to show off appropriate quilting for the level of skill the quilt required, and make the quilt look good, and show off some maybe different ideas for quilting.

    You seem to do a lot of quilts for people that love negative space. This BEGS for eye candy quilting. What else would you do?

  54. Definitely eye candy. I know what I *can* do, but I’d love to know what I *could* do if I pushed myself a little harder and thought a little more intentionally. And I love love love being inspired by exciting quilting.

  55. I really enjoy seeing the intricate and beautiful quilting you can do. To be honest that inspires me as a newer Quilters to take some of the same techniques you did and simplify them a little to something I could achieve too. Your work compliments the design so well it would be a shame to do anything else. Keep it up πŸ™‚

  56. I may not be in the majority here as I am not a longarmer and have only been quilting for a short time – I LOVE seeing the quilting you do but also realize that it is something I won’t be able to achieve at home. I can think of many times that I love a quilt you have quilted, want to buy the pattern but then realize I would never be able to achieve those results so I don’t buy the quilt pattern (as it’s the quilting I love more than the pattern itself). You do such incredibly beautiful work!!

  57. I am going to disagree with most of the responses here. I do my own quilting and for that I love to see more complicated quilting as something to aspire to. However if I am buying quilt patterns, and I think the quilt will only look nice with outstanding custom quilting, I may pass on the pattern to find one that will look nice with the type of quilting that I can do or can afford.

  58. I definitely want the eye candy! As a machine quilter I like to see things I can aspire to or even simplify for my clients who don’t always want something so elaborate.

  59. Eye candy all the way!

  60. I love to see how intricate you can make your quilting. It is my long term goal to be able to purchase a long arm and be able to add that special touch to my quilts

  61. The quilting should always be done to compliment the quilt. I always look for books where the photos really show the quilting…. sometimes the way the quilts are photographed, you can’t even see the quilting. Including diagrams & alternate suggestions for quilting is also helpful. Nothing I hate more than an elaborate pattern that finished off with “quilt as desired”…. No wonder so many quilters don’t do their own quilting! I think it’s important to give instructions & diagrams for people who want to quilt on their own machines — including methods for basting and practicing designs, so they can have success with finishing their quilts. Thanks for sharing your ideas & inspiration!

  62. I am always looking for how the pattern was quilted. A lot of times, I’ll get a customer quilt and I’ll look at the published pattern for guidance on how it is quilted. THere are some books where the same quilt is shown with an E2E pattern and also with a custom treatment. Those are my favorites. I’d prefer to see the eye candy myself. But when I first started, I would appreciate seeing how it would look with a more simpler treatment.

  63. For me it’s ‘the quilting that makes the quilt’, so I would quilt a design that enhances the piecing regardless of whether it looked more complicated, the end result is more inmportant, bring on the eye candy I say!

  64. I love the inspiration! We see a lot of what’s been done and redone…and many times Beautifully! But I personally love to see refreshingly new takes on quilts. By the way, I’m incredibly new to quilting, and even I’m trying to copy some of the things you do. I will keep practicing until I like the results!

  65. I like to see the intricate quilting even though I have no hope of doing it at all. If I like it for the quilt I will take to a professional to do for me. Just my thought. Sometimes it is the quilting that makes all the difference to the quilt. Thank you for the giveaway.

    Have a super great sewing and stitching day.

  66. The best books and patterns show ideas for quilting that I could actually attempt. I’m in second grade quilting and looking at college level curriculum is way beyond my comprehension and abilities. I may get there one day but it’s baby steps for me.

  67. I want to be inspired! But beyond that I think you need to do the quilting that the quilt is calling for. If the quilt is scrappy, full of pattern from the fabric, really small pieces, intricate quilting is just wasted. On that quilt I’d much rather see a simple quilting design that still has thought behind it and that complements and adds to the quilt. If the quilt has lots of negative space, though, go for it and wow us. Even the most detailed quilting design has something that can be translated to an easier style or at least aspired to by the beginner.

    And your name is being attached to this quilting. If all you did was simple straight lines or meanders, no one will want to hire you! When it comes down to it, quilting for a book is amazing advertizing after all.

  68. I love looking at both types of quilting- eye candy that’s above & beyond my skill level & designs that I can attempt. I will say that I’ve moved towards using Pinterest for those amazing pieces of eye candy & only buy books that have pieces I can realistically learn- but the upside is that as my skills increase, so will the level of difficulty in books I purchase!

  69. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog and definitely prefer the intricate quilting, I can do the simple designs. Keep on putting it out there.
    Terry

  70. I’ve seen straight-lines and pantos, when I purchase a book for piecing I want to see the possiblities of quilting that quilt pattern. To me seeing beautiful quilting is a bonus, an extra reason to purchase the book. If I’m on the fence about the purchase seeing beautiful quilting will tip me to the purchase side. Eye-candy for me.

  71. I love the inspiration that comes from amazing quilting. But I have had it happen several times where a customer brings me a quilt and the book she got the pattern from and says “can you quilt it exactly like this” I cringe when I hear that because in some cases the answer is yes. In others and your quilts would be a good example of this, the answer in no, mainly because unless I have your entire quitling diagram and patterns I can’t and more than likey the piecer can’t afford that level of quilting.

    So for me, I appreciate it when the published quilts are done to a level that other quilters can replicate.

    Just my two cents.

  72. Lisa in Texas says:

    That question is tough…I buy books for the patterns and seeing a photo of a beautifully quilted quilt helps me envision my finished project …but I have to admit my machine quilting skills are much different than a longarm quilters….I guess I still would like to see the maxed out quilted version…Lisa in Texas

  73. I love your quilting and there are very few people who can imitate professional quilting at home! So I’m definitely on the “eye candy” side of the spectrum. Keep doing what you’re doing. It’s fabulous!

  74. I am a longarm quilter and I prefer to see the eye candy. Always get new ideas looking at others quilting…Thanks for the chance. Interesting question..

  75. Hi Angela — Saw your post on the MQP board … I have loved reading your blog and your journey, and I missed you while you were gone. I am a simple quilter … I appreciate all the beautiful work that people do, but custom heavy quilting is not something I am interested in. I love books that challenge my skills, but focus more on simpler designs. I do all free motion with a little bit of pantos; love the ease of pantos, but really want to work on free motion. Would like to try ruler work as well; only done a little of that. I had a Juki/Grace frame set up for 1 1/2 yrs., and upgraded to an Innova 26″ last July. I’ve done about 79 quilts in that time period … just to give you some idea of where my skills are at. Love your quilting … it is beautiful!

  76. Carissa Pierce says:

    I look initially at the pattern. When I have decided that I like the pattern of the quilt then I can look at the quilting. I am relatively new to free motion quilting so I want to be able to recreate the quilting designs which can be somewhat simpler than the original. I also like to be inspired. One of the main reasons that I bought Jaybird Pattern Hugs and Kisses is because of the beautiful quilting. Mine didn’t look as nice but I was happy for the inspiration to try something more difficult. When I panic I have a great long arm quilter that is always eager to punch out the intricate designs for me.

  77. I want to see quilting that is inspiring and complementary to the patchwork. Over the past few years, I have watched quilting slowly take a back seat to patch work and it’s a disappointment to me. Don’t get me wrong. I love patchwork, but I love the actual quilting process more. I wish there were more books -or even larger sections in existing books- dedicated to quilting: choosing thread, decision making processes on ‘how to quilt’ a piece, tips and tricks to help a novice quilter but also inspire and develop a more advanced quilter, and if someone was spoiling me — a book on hand-quilting in a modern quilting world πŸ™‚

  78. I love seeing the detailed, intricate quilting.

  79. I vote for inspiring. Too many times I am stuck for an idea on how to quilt my quilts. While I might not be able to exactly duplicate an inspiring design, it usually springboards me to ideas that I can do.
    I love your work. Please, keep up the inspiration!

  80. Vicki Sprain says:

    If the author left the decision up to you, I would study the quilt and let the quilt tell you what it needs to have quilted on it. Also, try quilting something new on it that you have been wanting to try. Personally, as a long arm quilter for 5+ years, I love the eye candy! It gets me to buy more books these days. There are so many more frame quilters out there now than there were 5 years ago, that any beautiful quilting in a book of patterns must help to sell more books to these new frame quilters! Newbie or experienced, we all love the eye candy!:)

  81. I think the way you do it is perfect! Your quilting is so amazing and beautiful that I wouldn’t want you to ever tone it down! I can imagine simpler quilting designs myself; I would never be able to imagine the designs you come up with, so that’s what I’d pay to see in a picture. πŸ™‚

  82. Teresa Silva says:

    I love all the eye candy. That is what draws me to a book is I love to look at the machine quilting. I think the machine quilting adds so much to a quilt.

  83. Georgieanna says:

    I like the intricate design.

  84. I love to see amazing quilting. Even if I can’t recreate it myself, it’s fun to look at!

  85. I like to see the complicated quilting to see what other people are doing, but I can see how some people might be intimidated by it.

    Cindy

  86. I love the eye-candy quilting. I won’t be copying it anytime soon, and it’s not a reason to purchase a book, but it’s a definite bonus. I’m more of a scrap/functional quilter and do most of my quilting on my regular machine. So far, I haven’t ventured into intricate quilting, but maybe someday. When that day comes I’ll have the inspirational quilting like yours to encourage me. Thanks for showing how much quilting can enhance a quilt. ~Nita

  87. As has been said you can get books to take the fear out of quilting so I would love to see something along the lines of the next level up on one or two quilts then a progression right up to the beauties that you normally create. To me it makes more sense to give a starting point and then the achievable inspiration then the blow your socks off inspiration. I Machine quilt on my home machine but I don’t let that put me off trying new designed or techniques. The thing I would really love to read more about though is how other quilters decide on the quilting for each individual quilt (one of the reasons I love reading your blog!) It fascinates me that 2 quilters could be given the same blank canvas and come up with totally different quilts.
    I honestly find intermediate to advanced modern quilting books are hard to come by, at least in the UK, so when I do see one it grabs my attention and then I grab my wallet!
    Sorry about writing a war and peace like comment on your blog but the subject really interests me πŸ™‚

  88. I definitely prefer the intricate quilting! It’s like a two for one deal – I get good piecing AND good quilting ideas.

  89. Frances Dickson says:

    I want to see complicated stuff in books. I never end up making anything exactly from a book so I’d rather just get inspiration about all the things i will be able to do in years to come! Great giveaway.

  90. Always do whats best for the quilt ! It will make the quilt sing !!!

  91. I was just talking to a friend about this yesterday. Sometimes I see the quilting and know that I could never ever re-create it, and I can see how that might keep a person from doing that vs. a quilt that they might be able to quilt in the same fashion. At the same time, it’s awesome to see what some quilters can do that I cannot (which is a lot!) I’m not totally sure which side I lean towards though.

  92. I am on the new end of Quilting. I am excited by the wow eye candy but I have to admit I would rather something that I can copy. So I like to have you keep it on the simpler (but still cool) end.

  93. I like the eye candy approach. I piece quilts and I love looking over all the pretty designs when I get something back from a longarm quilter. It’s like I can look at it many times and still find something new and pretty on it.

  94. I like to see what I can do at home with my quilt. I enjoy the ‘eye candy’ pretty quilting…but because I am a new quilter, I would prefer to see simpler ideas that inspire me to try them and give me new ideas.

  95. I would leave the quilting design up to the quilter since I don’t really have an eye for what the design should look like on a quilt. I especially like the quilting you did on the quilt with the ‘e’ on it. That is the reason I would leave the design up to you.

  96. The best compliment I’ve gotten from a client is “you brought my quilt to life.” I imagine you’ve heard something similar to this yourself. People love what you do because it comes naturally to you. You are your quilting. You’re known for a certain style and you know what’s right for you. Now, if you’re planning on doing a book about a beginners guide to Modern Quilting, then I’d say you could skip it. Otherwise, how can you go wrong with eye candy? It’s fat free, sugar free and everyone loves a stunning quilt to add to their hips!

  97. Michelle Kingsley says:

    I definately go for the more complicated patterns & designs. I find the challenge exciting although I’m not always successful at complicated patterns; I like to try. Thenks for the opportunity to win!

  98. Sue Lerch says:

    I most often like the eye candy. It truly is inspiring.
    Sue

  99. Although I’m not interested in the give-away, I will weigh in on the quilting. The quilting is always my favorite part of quiltmaking. Therefore, when I find books with quilting that makes the quilt better than just simple quilting, I’m as inspired by the quilting as the patchwork.

  100. I like the eye candy–I already know how to straight line quilt and I know what it looks like–I like to see the creativity in a real special quilting job!

  101. when I am looking at quilts in books, I first see the fabric, color and design. Then I begin to dissect it into the individual blocks and work my way around into the quilting design. It is almost as if there is a lens that I can turn to rearrange my focus. All of it is important for the overall affect of the quilt…

  102. I think both are great. The eye candy because it is something to inspire you to try something that maybe a little more difficult then you have been doing. Also the easier designs because you may not be at the other level yet in your quilting but still want to try something different then what you have been doing. I don’t think there is any right or wrong way to quilt because in the end both ways may inspire you to try something new.

  103. Minnesotaquilter says:

    I love these quilts. When I see intricate quilting patterns in books sometimes I am intimidated from making the quilt, although I love to see the designs.

Trackbacks

  1. […] also want to thank everyone that took the time to comment on my post about quilting quilts for books. Based on the multitude of responses, it seems that most people […]

  2. […] I will draw a winner from the comments on this post, so if you haven’t had time to enter……this is your last […]

  3. […] to everyone who voiced their opinion in my blog post about quilting for books, “do-able or eye candy?” It seems that most people like the […]

Leave a Reply

