A field study in purple

Wow!! Thanks everyone for the questions and comments about my new weekly series, “Deciding what to quilt“! If you sent me an email, I promise that I will get back to you as soon as possible! Next week’s post will discuss how to break down the quilt top and make a plan of attack for the quilting. I am also going to include some of the pictures that readers have been emailing me. Should be very informative!

In the meantime, I want to share a quilt that I finished up last month. This quilt is made using the Field Study pattern by Tula Pink I really love this pattern and I even have a Field Study quilt in my book. Of course, I can’t show you that one quite yet…..but I can show you this one.



I had just a few minutes to take pictures of the quilt, so please forgive the crappy pictures!

This quilt was made for my Aunt and I knew that she likes feathers, so I quilted a feather in the main zig zag portion of the quilt as well as the top and bottom of the quilt.

Happy Quilting!

Comments

  1. Ok, now I really want a long arm quilting machine! I’m still using my regular machine and I feel like I’m constrained/hampered by manipulating the entire quilt. Any tips for manipulating a bulky quilt to produce clean “swoopy” designs like feathers? Also, I would love a tutorial on how to quilt pebbles. I tried it a few times and they just ended up looking weird. I know this is outside the scope of questions you set out, so feel free to tell me to take a hike! Thanks Angela!

    • Bri~ Thanks for commenting! I love my longarm, but I have seen gorgeous quilting come from a home sewing machine, including feathers! Do you have a slider on your sewing machine to help the quilt glide through? I have also seen people hang clips from their ceiling so that the quilt can be lifted up and easier to push through your machine! As far as a pebble tutorial, I would definitely consider it! Hope all this helps!!

      • I’ve never heard of a slider, guess I need to do some research! I’ve only been quilting for about a year, so I’m still trying to figure all this out. I got an extension table for Christmas though. I’m in the middle of piecing a quilt right now, we’ll see how it goes. Thank you for all your help and inspiration, you rock!

  2. I love this! I’m planning a zigzag quilt for my godchild’s birthday in April. This opened my mind for quilting possibilities. Thanks!

  3. Oh gosh! Hanging it from the ceiling from clips….genius! I’ll have to try that. That’s one of my biggest worries about the process of quilting by machine when I get started. I’ll kind of be ahead of the game if I do something like that.

  4. Hi Ange – thanks for sharing all this info on planning how and what to quilt, it’s fascinating! What is the slider you mentioned above? I need something to go on my extension table – it always feels like the quilt is ‘sticking’ to the table and makes it hard to move. Any tips gratefully accepted! 🙂 Danielle

Leave a Reply

