Portland, Oregon……Here I Come!

That’s right all my west coast friends, I am coming to Portland to teach at the Machine Quilter’s Exposition (MQX) which takes place the e October 17th-20th. This quilt show is for all machine quilters, not just longarmers. I hope you will consider coming and checking out the show and maybe taking a class. As soon as the class catalog is available, I will let you know what classes I will be teaching and I will also update my Classes & Lecture page.

And if that wasn’t exciting enough, I am heading to Salt Lake City on Thursday to be a guest on “Quilt It” a machine quilting show on Qnntv.com. I am going to be talking about my book and also demonstrate some of the different ways to quilt modern quilts. Yay!! And of course, I will let everyone know when it is out!

But before I leave, I want to share with you a question that I received from Molly from my weekly series, Deciding What to quilt.:

Love this series- this is such a great idea. Here is a question for you- when quilting on prints do you typically keep the quilting simple as it is hard to see and can take away from the print on the fabric- I am about to quilt a quilt that is about half solid half heavy prints- and I am debating on whether to quilt the print area or just stitch in the ditch around them and only quilt the solid areas

Great question, Molly! You are absolutely right, quilting hardly shows up in fabrics with busy prints. When quilting a quilt like this, you have a couple different options. First, try out a new quilting desing in the busier fabrics. You get to practice a new design without worrying that ever bump and bobble will show up. Or, you can try quilting around the designs within the fabric. This adds interest to the quilting and since the design is already printed, you don’t have to mark the quilt! Talk about a win/win!

Thanks again for all the questions…keep them coming!
Happy Quilting!

Comments

  1. I was just wondering that myself since I made a busy quilt with a block/book called ‘Easy Pieces’ from 1998-the first year I made a quilt. The book was called EASY PIECES so I thought it would be easy…hahaha. Anyway, I may attempt to quilt it myself with something other than stitch in the ditch, and that would be new for me and take a chance– or I may send to you. 🙂 🙂 Just depends on the mood that day 🙂
    Have a blast in Portland!

  2. I’m so excited for you Angela. You’re going to be a TV star! 🙂 Well deserved – you’ll be great!

  3. Thanks so much for answering my question Angela! I think that is great advice and I will send you a pic of my quilt when it is all finished- good luck and have a great trip!

  4. Gosh, I would love to take one of your classes. I probably wont be able to go to Portland, but how about Road 2 CA in January 2013?

  5. Angela that’s so exciting that you’re going to be in Portland! I’ve been planning on going to the show and was so bummed that you were going to be at the one back east but not there. Now I can take your classes!! I’ll be the crazy redhead who bombards you with questions, ok?

Leave a Reply

