Talking to your quilts

This week, I received the sweetest gift from Julie, a quilt of my very own!

I had quilted this quilt for her for her booth at Spring market last year. It is her Hugs and Kisses pattern and was my favorite one of the bunch! It’s such a sweet gift because I don’t have a lot of quilts of my own…..I am too busy quilting other people’s quilt. (I am definitely not complaining though!!)

Seeing this quilt reminded me of the conversation I had with it when it was a still just a quilt top. Do you ever talk to your quilts? I do, I hope that doesn’t make me a crazy person!

The first thing the quilt told me was to quilt it with straight lines….

Normally when a quilt tells me how to quilt it, I don’t argue (talking to a quilt doesn’t make you crazy, arguing with it does!). But, here’s the deal, for the most part I don’t like quilting straight lines. I love swirly, feathery, quilt-it-until-it’s-flat kind of quilting….but the quilt was persistent. The fabric with it’s texture and color, would look good with straight lines….

So I did it…I quilted the whole thing with nary a swirl in sight….sigh. Once it was finished I sent it back to Julie.

But now it has come to live with me! My very own couch quilt…I won’t be sharing this with the kids or anyone else for that matter…

But, maybe some night, when everyone is asleep….I may go load it back on the machine and put some feathers on it, just for fun!!

Thanks Julie!!!

Also, don’t forget to let me know if you have any quilts that you would like me to feature in my “Deciding what to quilt” series. I am working on next weeks post, and it’s going to be about figuring out how to quilt quilts with a lot of small pieces. Should be interesting!!

Happy Quilting

Comments

  1. I think it’s perfectly normal for quilts to talk to you. Sometimes its the fabric, other times it’s the pattern. Oval Elements by Art Gallery always tells me to quilt pebbles.

    I look forward to see how you cover quilting quilts with small pieces. I have one that I’m stumped on because some of the 6″ blocks have more than 40 pieces to them. http://aquiltingjewel.blogspot.com/2010/06/scenic-bom-completed-top.html

  2. I always talk to my quilts and I love it when I name them. I would love to send you my tile quilt of many pieces for your ‘deciding what to quilt’ series but I just can’t find an email address for you?

  3. sandy engelman says:

    I finally finished a charm multi-square bed quilt. When I pieced it over 2 years ago, I put it away because I didn’t like it. But I drug it out and found some coordinating fabrics to make the borders….every time I walk into the bedroom, it makes me happy just to look at it. I guess you just never know for sure how it
    will turn out.??

  4. Georgieanna says:

    It is a beautiful quilt and you are a genius at quilting’ maybe one of these day you could show one of my quilts???

  5. Gina Pina says:

    Wow! This is seriously one of my favorite quilts everrrrr. That is so cool of Jaybird to give it to you! These posts on how you decide what to quilt have been very inspirational. I have been trying to channel your energy lately. I am so glad that you are so open with your method. I think once I have your book to go with Tula’s I will be unstoppable. mwa ha ha! Thanks a ton, Angela.

Leave a Reply

