Hot off the Rack~ Corey’s Quilt

I quilted a quilt for Corey awhile ago and I am excited to finally get to show it!   Her quilt, Organic Elemnets, is her newest Moda Bake Shop design:

Picture by: Corey

I absolutely loved quilting this quilt. The background gave me a lot of area to play with the quilting and the sashing strips were the ideal width for quilting different designs.

So…what was I thinking when I was quilting it?

I had a lot of fun picking out the designs for this quilt! First of all, Corey let me have full control over the quilting. So I chose several different designs. In the white background fabric, I quilted a leafy/swirl design. (I think that I need to get better about naming the designs!).

In the sashing pieces, I alternated between three designs; a swirl, a wishbone and a figure 8 type design. The reason I did this isn’t as profound as you might think…….I know myself and I know that I need to have a lot of variety in the quilting to keep me from getting too bored! I picked those particular designs because they just sounded like fun at that moment.

Within the appliqued blocks is where I really had fun with the quilting. To help set them apart from the rest of the quilt, I quilted pebbles around the applique. The denser quilting helped the leaves pop out just a bit. I left the appliqued pieces unquilted, which is something I don’t always do.

I am definitely not against quilting on appliqued designs, especially if they are large and could benefit from added details. But since these pieces were small and attached well, I knew that leaving them unquilted would look the best.

My absolute favorite part of this quilt is the stem that I added to the leaves. I decided to do it because I thought it was a fun detail to add and the fact that you only really see it on the back, makes it that much better!

Corey had marked the middle of the block to help her place the leaves on the quilt, so I just used that line as my quide. I quilted a line a 1/4” on each side of her marked line. It’s such a little thing but it amused me to do it….so why not?!

Photo by: Corey

What are you thinking?

So what do you think? Would you have picked different quilting designs? I would love to hear you comment with your ideas.

Happy Quilting!

If you like what you have seen here, follow me on twitter, “like” me on facebook, or check out my book.

Comments

  1. Angela — I love it ! Your quilting using “organic elements” lends itself perfectly to the quilt pattern, materials, color and name! Your work is so consistent and looks natural on this quilt. Ahhh inspiring !! Thank you.

    Karen

  2. This is terrific–it’s amazing how a good quilter can really enhance a quilt’s style and design. Love that stem too!

  3. I just love all the variety of designs in the quilting that you did. LOVE THE PEBBLES AND YOUR SWIRLS! The stem is very cool!

  4. Anonymous says:

    So awesome. I love that stem idea. I like using different designs when i quilt, but i sometimes bite off more than i can chew and it takes longer then i want it to. (I use a domestic sewing machine).
    Thanks for sharing!!!!

  5. Oh Angela, once again you brought jaw dropping life to a beautifully made quilt. The stem idea was perfect, also like the repeat in other areas.

    You have such a gift of taking a finished top into another level of art.

  6. Glenna in TX says:

    I really like how you quilt design elements into the pieced elements. Makes the quilt come alive.

  7. Acabo de ver este edredon en grafgossip ,deje un comentario en el blog de Corey y al final vi su enlace .Ignoraba que el acolchado era suyo.Es usted una ARTISTA ,los tallos una delicadeza.

Leave a Reply

