Deciding What to Quilt

Yay!! It’s Monday and that means it’s time for another post in the “Deciding what to quilt” series. This week, we are going to talk about Janet’s quilt:

Photo by: Janet

This weeks guest quilter is Alex, from Teaginny designs. I have had the pleasure of working with Alex on a couple of quilts, she is so talented. She has designed quilts for Fat Quarterly and Stitch magazine and has had some of her quilts featured in the Modern Quilt Guild’s 100 days of quilts. My guess is that you will be seeing even more of her in the future!  This is what she suggested for the quilting:

Thanks for asking me, Angela!  This type of curved piecing is all about creating the illusion of circles.  My first through would be to emphasize them.  I would do this type of quilting with my walking foot following the lines of the piecing.  

Option 1

Another option, if I felt more like doing free motion, would be to emphasize one of the circles with a spiral.  I would fill in the rest of the quilt with a watery free motion design picking up on the oceany feel of the blue and green batiks.  Hopefully it would look better than this one I drew with my mouse on the computer. Either design would be easy to accomplish on your home machine.

Option 2

Thanks Alex! Those are fantastic ideas, they are going to be hard to follow up!

I definitely agree with Alex, enhancing the shapes of the quilt is a great way to quilt this quilt. I think that maybe picking out a different shape to highlight would be a fun way to quilt it as well. Take this diagram for instance:

You could pick out a repeating shape, such as this pumpkinseed shape, and echo the piece from outside in. The big drawback with this design is that you would have to stop and restart each piece, but I think that the effect would be well worth it. I will fill in the rest of the quilt with a swirl or something similar.

Another option could be a combination of both mine and Alex’s suggestions:

You could pick a shape, such as the diamond shape, and quilt it with echoing lines and then quilt around the circles. I would suggest quilting the diamond shapes first and then quilting the circles, just so you don’t lose track!

A word about thread:

When quilting bold, colorful quilts like this, you have a lot of choices when it comes to thread colors. Unlike quilts made out of solid fabrics, the mottled colors of the batiks can handle many different colors. You could try green, orange, red or tan. If you like variegated threads, you could try one of those as well. Just have fun with it!

What do you think?

So, what do you think? How would you quilt this quilt? I am sure that Janet would love to hear other options as well, feel free to leave your suggestions in the comments of this post. Also, if you have a quilt that you would like to have featured on this series, please contact me at angelawaltersquilting@gmail.com.

A big thanks to Alex and Janet for helping me out with today’s post! Also, don’t forget about the fabric giveaway going on until tomorrow!

Happy Quilting!

Comments

  1. I like the last “combo” option. Love the emphasis on the circles and the the one different quilting shape is great!

  2. Someday, I want to try curved piecing and I love this design. I am a big fan of the PUMPKIN SEED quilting! My eye just seems to like more round shapes rather than points as in the diamonds. Beautiful quilt and I’m sure any of the quilting designs will look fabulous!

  3. The idea of picking out a shape that is not originally obvious is very inspirational. Thanks!

  4. Thanks for showing options for the domestic and longarm machines. I would definitely use one of those luscious variegated threads on this one. I really like the circles and diamonds combination. It will be great to see how Janet quilts it.

  5. This is such a great series- that would certainly be a challenging quilt to pick a design for – but I think the pumpkin seed design strikes me as the most appealing. I really do like the spiral and water design that Alex drew up as well though – it is totally different. Thanks Angela for continuing to inspire us and great job Alex for your ideas- and Janet, wow that is one very beautiful quilt.

  6. I love the spiral and water design idea! Each idea brings new definition to the quilt, which is stunning.

  7. love the combination of both your designs, gives this pattern so much more definition, the varigated thread in would be excellent.
    Can’t wait to see it finished

  8. This is the bestest tutorial I have seen for a long time! I love the different designs you have suggested and I really think I could accomplish them. Now, if there was only a book….

    P.S. I am on the waiting list for one – when is summer coming???

  9. Angela, What are you using to ‘draw’ on your photo?? Looks like computer program?? Drawing tablet??
    Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Deciding What to Quilt (quiltingismytherapy.com) […]

Leave a Reply

