I’ve been keeping a secret!

I have to admit that I have been keeping a secret from my customers for awhile now. I have been secretly signing their quilts…….it’s a silly thing, really.

It began a few years ago when I quilted Tula Pink’s name in her quilts. Then I joked with Tula Pink about how I was going to quilt my name on her quilt with red thread. While I definitely haven’t been quilting my whole name with red thread, I have been adding the letter A to most of the quilts that I quilt…..actually, it looks more like an @ sign.

Does this quilt look familiar?

free-motion quilting

I don’t always remember to do it on all the quilts I quilt. And I always make sure that it is well hidden, I definitely don’t want it to stand out.

modern machine quilting

It’s really more for my own amusement then anything else!

quilting designs

Unless anyone complains, I plan to keep cracking myself up by quilting an A in my customer’s quilts!

In other fun news, I just found out that I have been nominated for a 2012 Golden Quilter’s award on Sewcalgal, the same website that just did a great review of my book!

I have been nominated for Best Longarm Quilter, which is an honor, but the even cooler thing is that I am on the list with Karen McTavish. She is my quilting idol, her quilting is what made me realize that quilting can be another layer of art on a quilt. There are also other categories that you can vote on, such as Best Online Shop and Best Designer. Go check it out and vote for your favorites!

Comments

  1. Makes me think of the famous caricature artist to the Broadway stars, Al Hirschfeld, who hid his daughter’s name Nina, in every sketch. Google him to see some works; it’s very fun to find the Nina within!

  2. LOL! I’ve not noticed a @ in my argyle quilt – maybe I need to look closer, hehe 🙂

  3. Oooh another project for Em and me to examine her Loveliness of Ladybugs quilt to see if we and find it 🙂

  4. This is awesome! And congratulations!

  5. That’s so funny, I thought I was the only one who does this. I quilt a little spiral into every customer quilt I do, as my own little signature. So far no one has noticed!

  6. I was thinking of Al Hirshfield as well! This is a great idea too in case a quilt every gets stolen. Someone can always take off a label and argue it is theirs, but they won’t undo the stitches of the quilting (if they even know to).

  7. toni-anne says:

    I used to have fun trying to find the little boy and his dog in a local cartoon artist’s work that was featured in our daily newspaper for years. It is fun to have a secret stamp! I like leaving a mark of some kind too..it doesn’t have to grab the spotlight.

  8. Keep doing it! I think it adds to the quilty charm and now all of your customers can have fun looking for their @!

  9. Barbara Inskeep says:

    What a fun idea, now I need to take my quilts off the wall and see if I was lucky enough to have your signature @. Congratulations on being nominated for best longarm quilter, you have my vote!

  10. Angelina S. says:

    Haha! That is awesome! In 100 years when Angela Walters quilts are hanging in museums, there are going to be all kinds of debates over lineage. I can just just see some museum curator going over a quilt with a magnifying glass looking for an @!

  11. Did you put As in my quilts? Please say you did but don’t tell me where so I can find them! LOL!

Trackbacks

  1. […] I’ve been keeping a secret! (quiltingismytherapy.com) […]

Leave a Reply

