Josie’s Quilt (This one’s a tearjearker)

Alright people, get your tissues out……

Remember these 2 cute baby quilts that I blogged about a few days ago? I also quilted a coordinating quilt to go with them.
free-motion machine quilting

Michelle, my customer, made all three quilts for a pregnant friend. Michelle’s friend had tragically lost a baby earlier last year. This is what happened, in her words:

On the evening of Sunday, Jan 30, 2011, I became nauseous and just could not get comfortable. I was diagnosed with severe preeclampsia with placental abruption. Preeclampsia is a syndrome characterized by the onset of hypertension and proteinuria after 20 weeks of gestation. Unfortunately at just 24 weeks and 2 days gestation, there was no choice but to deliver our baby. The original plan included transport to another hospital which specialized in high risk pregnancies and preterm delivery. In preparation for transport, my pressures were continuing to rise and the preeclampsia had become life threatening. There was no choice but to deliver at the hospital where I was initially admitted. I was prepped and immediately taken for an emergency C-section where I delivered a little girl weighing just 1 pound. The Children’s Mercy neonatal team had been called in to assist in the care of our baby immediately after arrival. However, despite all efforts our little girl, Josie Michael, passed away a short time later with her father (Mike) by her side, holding her hand.

Once Michelle found out that her friend was pregnant again, shedecided to make all three quilts. Here is what Michelle says about it:

Before all of this had happened Kristin (my sister) and I had already picked out and purchased the blue and pink version of this fabric for the entire nursery. Once Josie had passed away we (I especially!) felt it was only right that we make something for the big bed that was going to remain in the “nursery” with hopes that if she did have another child that the quilt would be a memory of Josie and still match the nursery “theme!” And finally… that is what will happen! This quilt will be on the big bed in the nursery room and the pink baby quilt that you quilted will be for her baby sister “Quinn”! I am so amazed at how the quilting really pulled this whole quilt together!!! I know every time she looks at it she will think of baby Josie and it will truely be cherished in their home. I feel so fortunate to have been able to make this for her and her husband Mike!!

I warned you that this was a tearjearker! When Michelle sent me the quilt, she asked me to quilt Josie’s initials into the middle of the quilt and to quilt her full name in one of the borders.

machine quilted letters

machine quilted feathers

When I quilted her full name, Josie Michael Fuhrman, in the border, I used a dark brown thread to help it show up…but it still is a little hard to see.
machine quilting

(Josie was given the middle name Michael because that is the only person she got met during her short time here.)

Here are some more detail shots of the quilting:
custom free-motion quilting
machine quilting

Just recently, Michelle’s friend delivered a healthy baby girl and I wish the whole family loads of joy and peace!

This isn’t the first emotional quilt I have quilted (see here or here for others that I have done) but this one sure got to me! There can be so much nastiness on the internet and in life in general. Let’s all take a moment, say a thankful prayer for all we have and go out of our way to be nice to someone today!

Happy Quilting!

Comments

  1. It was a sad story with the most wonderful of endings or shall we say beginnings! Good luck and lots of blessings for the new baby and family! Hugz to you…great quilting work you’ve done there! Just awesome!

  2. What a beautiful way to always remember their first daughter. You’re right, this was a total tearjerker but at least there are happy tears at the end. What an absolute joy to finally hold and keep their baby! You’re work is such a beautiful art Angela, and I really love the brown thread (it’s like an easter egg hunt on a quilt).

  3. Such a wonderful quilt. Such a wonderful story. I love the way that little Josie will always be remembered in such a wonderful way in this beautiful quilt. Thank you for sharing.

  4. sandy engelman says:

    it is so comforting to those who experience loss to have something special to hold on to…like a quilt. I belong to a charity in Ohio which donates quilts and other handmade items to local hospitals and agencies who support families. We have enjoyed knowing our efforts send them love during their difficult time.

  5. katznquilts@yahoo.com says:

    I’m on my third hanky, what a sad story with a beautiful ending of these new arriv als and their sister will always be with them.
    Another gorgeous job Angela, thank you for sharing

  6. What a celebration for little Josie. My brother in law and his wife lost their first baby within hours of her birth and I know how hard that is to deal with. Even after three healthy children, he still has some bitterness that God would take little Savannah.
    May God bless the family and give them peace and blessings.

Leave a Reply

