Faux Trapunto (A Quick Saturday Blog Post)

This is going to be a mini-blog post. Just some pictures of a fun project that I finished for a friend.
machine quilting

She wanted to make a pillow for her friend, so she had me quilt up a small piece of fabric with a letter T on it. It’s hard to see the quilting on the front, so here is a picture of the back:

free-motion machine quilting

This was quilted with 2 layers of Dream Puff Batting, made by Quilter’s Dream….it was so thick, I thought that I wasn’t going to be able to quilt it! But I just took it slow and it ended up working fine.
faux trapunto quilting
Look how thick the T is!

In case you were wondering, real trapunto is when you quilt around the designs with with a thick batting and then trim the excess batting away. Then you reload it and quilt the whole thing again. Here is a blog post about a quilt I quilted with trapunto.

And here are some pictures of the finished quilt. It was definitely worth the hours of work!

On a totally different subject, I wanted to point out that if you follow me on twitter, I changed my twitter name to AngelaFMQ. When I first signed up for twitter, I never imagined that people would actually follow me, so I didn’t pick an easy name…oops!

On Monday, I will have the next post in the “Deciding What to Quilt” series…..but this time, I am turning the tables. I have a quilt that I have no idea how to quilt. So put on your thinking caps, because I am going to bribe you for your suggestions with a giveaway!!

Have a fabulous weekend! Happy Quilting!!!

Comments

  1. Went to flicker and that quilt is so amazing. I so love it. What i am discovering about me is that i love how the pieced quilt and amazing quilting is what i love best. It is the journey that i have started and am just a few km in. I love the traditional patterns with modern quilting. That is what i am always attracted to and have just very recently started going in that direction myself. Really on the first quilt i would describe that way, It is a sampler, top that i have completed awhile ago. Each block i am trying to do something different. It is challenging but i love it. Thanks once again for sharing. Cant help thinking; if this is where you are now in your quilting career, where will you be when you are my age, a gramma! Delightful thought.
    Donna

  2. Kathy Belliveau says:

    Hi Angela, I have been searching the internet for all there is to know about quilting, and I came across you. What a delight it was. You are so talented and I thoroughly enjoyed watching a video you did on free motion quilting on a regular machine. It has inspired me to want to try it. I have made a few quilts years ago and taken a class. I got the bug to go back to quilting when I came across a quilt I started for my youngest son years ago. I had already made one for his older brother which he uses on his bed. He is 28 and his brother is 24. I have the top all finished and ready to quilt. That’s what lead me on a search of the internet to find out how to do free motion. I bought the special presser foot and after watching you I am anxious to start, but I have a question for you. When you start a motif is it a continuous flow or do you have to stitch back over a bit to start the next curve or circle or square you might be doing? I’m confused because when I look at all the ones you’ve done it’s hard to tell how you have arches and curves that look like each one was individually started on a new line.
    I hope you can understand what it is I’m trying to convey. I hope you can help me so I can finally finish my son’s quilt before he leaves the nest (soon I hope) lol. .
    I look forward to reading all your tips and tricks and seeing your beautiful work now and in the future. You’re one great lady for sharing all with others.
    Sincerely,
    Kathy

Leave a Reply

