The trippiest quilt I have ever quilted….

Thanks again for all the quilting suggestions on the last blog post, I am reading them all and sketching some of them. You all sure are a creative bunch! I will be sure to share a picture of it once it is quilted!

Today, instead of begging you for help again, ย I am sharing one of Emily’s new quilt patterns, Groove.

Groove Quilt Patter

Picture by Emily Cier

Her description of this quilt was quite fitting:

The Sixties gave us a very unique view of the world, the result of a cultural revolution, accelerating rate of technological change, and — to be honest — likely a bit of acid. If you want to experience a bit of that trippiness for yourself, may we recommend this quilt as a relatively safe form of mind-altering substance?

This quilt is definitely “trippy” but in an awesome way! I don’t know how she puts together such wonderful color combinations, but each time she wows me! Here are some close up shots of the quilting:
fee-motion machine quilting

I had such a fun time quilting this quilt, I picked a different design for each color and just filled it in!

modern machine quilting

I also played with the scale ย of the designs. I used the same circular design in the yellow and the magenta portions, I just allowed the design to get bigger in the magenta portion. I think that it give the quilting a totally different look!

Here is a close up shot of the quilting in the orange part of the quilt.

modern machine quilting

And of course, a shot of the back:

machine quilting

The “pre-quilt market” rush has offically hit me so I better hop off of here and get to quilting! But before I leave I had to share a quote with you:

“Every master used to be a disaster”

I wish I could remember who said it……but I can’t. I read it in one of my how-to-be-better-at-something self-help books. The point is this…no one starts as a master, they start as a disaster and then with a lot of work and practice, they become a master. Such true words for every part of our lives!

Happy Quilting!

Comments

  1. What a gorgeous quilt! And the quilting is the perfect, subtle accent.

    And thank you for the quote. I spent more time Sunday unquilting than quilting so it’s nice to have a reminder that you’ve been there before, too.

  2. that quilt and the quilting is definitely groovy!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I can see it done in Harvest gold and olive green, LOL. Funkadellic ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Reminds me of the Match Game! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Peppermint Pinwheels says:

    I agree with Karin, I’d love to see this in gold, green and brown! What a great quilt and the quilting is wonderful!

  5. Wow you have done it again. I love all the diferent quilting styles you used and the texture you created. I may have to buy that pattern. I love that quilt. Awesome job!

  6. I love this quilt. I just want to say thank you for sharing your quilting knowledge and giving inspiration.

  7. I LOVE that quilt!!! Is there a pattern or tutorial anywhere that I could soak up the know-how to make one of my very own?

  8. Wowser! That’s an amazing quilt and I love your approach to quilting it! Thanks for introducing us to another fabulous pattern.

  9. Speaking as someone who actually was a teenager in the ’60’s, this quilt is quite trippy. Life was certainly different back then. Good different! ๐Ÿ™‚ This quilt speaks to it all! Luv it!!

  10. I am glad I clicked on the link from Emily’s blog. Your quilting is wonderful, and I am very envious of such talent….. I can’t quilt a curvy line!!!!!!! Well, I tried for straight, it got curvy!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Trackbacks

  1. […] For this one? The words “groovy, trippy and acid” where mentioned too many times. You can read Angela’s post on the quilting here. […]

Leave a Reply

