I love mini-quilts!!

I love to quilt little things like placemats, table runners and mini-quilts. It is awesome because I get the excitement of starting a new project and the gratification of finishing it, without the 5-10 hours of intense quilting. So when Emily asked me if I would mind quilting her little quilt, I was all for it!

quilted embroidery quilt, machine quilting

Photo by: Emily Cier

Emily asked me to quilt the colored hexagons in the background different than the neutral parts. I think it was a great call, it definitely enhances the pattern.

Now I would be remiss if I didn’t address the elephant in the room…..we all know there is a huge debate and I would love to set the record straight. I know that no one asked my opinion but I feel the need to say how I feel about the subject…..(deep breath)

I think it is totally ok to quilt within the embroidery portions of a quilt…..whew! Feels good to get that off my chest….

modern machine quilting

Photo by Emily Cier

However, since the embroidered area was small and this quilt won’t be used a lot, I think that just quilting around the outside looks great! This fun little quilt is sure to brighten up anyone’s day and the pattern is available on her website.

 
I hope that you all have a fantastic Easter weekend. I am looking forward to Monday, when I get to share some exciting news!

Happy Quilting!!

Comments

  1. I love it

  2. Hehehehehehehehehehehehe! You’re so funny! :>

    … and the quilting you did looks fantastic, of course!

  3. YOU’RE TOO WEIRD…YOU LOVE TO KEEP US ON EDGE! 🙂

  4. Great job! Totally agree about embroidery and quilting and I’ll go out on a limb and say it’s ok with appliqué too 🙂

  5. Anonymous says:

    me parece precioso un saludo Beegoña

  6. Anonymous says:

    Me parece precioso el mini quilt .Saludos Begoña

  7. Just saw the cover – WOW! Congratulations! Exciting new magazine.

  8. Looks great. I think I would really enjoy a mini project too. Full size quilts take me months!

Leave a Reply

