Crosshatch

Usually when I think of the word crosshatch….. I think of crosshatch quilting,  a gorgeous, but tedious quilting design. But now, there’s a new crosshatch in town and it’s a quilt pattern by Empty Bobbin Sewing Studio:

(all photos taken by Sarah Sorell and stolen from Shea’s blog)

modern quilt pattern with longarm quilting

Every time Shea designs a pattern, I know that means that I get to quilt several quilts. I like to try to come up with different ways to quilt each quilt, just to keep it a little interesting!
longarm quilting

This quilt was a little tricky to quilt since every….freaking….piece is diagonal. Diagonal lines are always a little hard for me. Not to mention that it makes it a little difficult to make my way around the quilt. But by the end of the fifth quilt, I finally figured out a routine….but at this point I don’t even think I could remember how I did it!

modern machine quilting

But even though these quilts gave me a little bit of a headache (and I say that in the most lovingly way possible!), I am thrilled with how they turned out. Don’t you just love the back of quilts…I do!

back of quilting done with a longarm quilting machine

The pattern for this quilt is available at The Fat Quarter Shop!

Happy Quilting!

If you like what you have seen here, follow me on twitter, “like” me on facebook, or check out my book.

Comments

  1. I really like how you quilted Shea’s mom’s quilt!

  2. Fantastic!! great work!

  3. Someone needs to figure out how to load a quilt diagonally! Now there’s a challenge for ya!

  4. Gorgeous! And I love the back!

  5. Love It!!!!!!

  6. It’s funny how those quilts that challenge us the most always keep a special place in our hearts- these are really lovely and they do look super cool from the back!

  7. Ramona Putnam says:

    Hi Angela. Thanks, thanks, thanks for your time today. When you spoke of this quilt, I was thinking of another you had quilted and hadn’t seen this blog yet. Quilting wise, I like the back best. Quilting really stands out.

  8. love the contemporary look and backs are great!

Trackbacks

  1. […] corner of the booth. Hanging on the wall to the right is her newest pattern, Crosshatch. Which I blogged about a couple of months […]

Leave a Reply

