Urban Decay Quilt

It is the Quiltdad trifecta! I have a yet another quilt that I quilted for John (Quiltdad). He blogged about it yesterday, so I decided to share my pictures today. Here’s the quilt, Urban Decay:

quilt by quilt dad with longarm quitingFirst of all, this quilt combines two of my favorite things, Moda Crossweave and Curious Nature (David Butler’s debut fabric line). John designed this quilt for Emily Herrick’s new book, Geared for Guys.

This quilt is so manly, it made the cover of the book.

geared for guys book

When I was deciding how to quilt this quilt, I wanted to emphasize the deconstructed nature of the quilt pattern. So in the “complete”  blocks, I quilted a design that was very structured and geometric. However in the “broken” blocks I used a variation of one of the quilting designs in my book.

close up of modern quilt longarm quilting

A close up of a complete block:

curious nature fabric in a quilt

Here’s a closer view of the bottom of the quilt:

Close up of modern machine quilting designs

In the sashing, I went with the same geometric theme.

geometric longarm quilting design

I think I may have to do a tutorial on this design sometime. It’s actually quite easy, not near as complicated as it looks!

This book is available here and features 8 quilt patterns for that special guy in your life. I just so happen to have a stack of curious nature in my quilting room, I may have to whip it out and make an Urban Decay quilt for myself, after market of course!!

 

Happy Quilting!

Comments

  1. sillyandrea says:

    “”I think I may have to do a tutorial on this design sometime.

    YES! 😀

  2. Yes! Definitely a tutorial! I saw QuiltDad’s post yesterday and really wanted to see what you had done with the quilting..so thanks so much for showing us. Quilting is very clever.

  3. Wow!! I love the way you approached the design issues with your quilting. Fabulous.
    You are always such an inspiration.

  4. Very Cool!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Urban Decay Quilt (quiltingismytherapy.com) Share this:TwitterStumbleUponFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

