Tula’s Raindrops

Let’s switch gears today, instead of the Urban Decay quilt that I blogged about yesterday, I am going to share Tula Pink‘s Raindrops quilt.

This quilt is one of the quilts in her book, Quilts from the House of Tula Pink.
Tula Pink Raindrops quilt with modern machine quilting

As usual, I looked to the quilt top for inspiration for the quilting design. In the background, I quilted swirls with random raindrops thrown in. I didn’t mark it or plan the spacing of the raindrops, I just quilted them in as I went!
tula pinks raindrops quilt

To give the quilt a “wet” look, Tula pieced the quilt with Radiance fabric from Robert Kaufman. According to their website, it’s derived from a cotton silk blend, this fabric has the sheen and look of silk with the added benefits of cotton.

I was a little apprehensive about quilting a different kind of fabric than normal, but I didn’t need to be. It was a dream to quilt! I didn’t have to change needles or thread, it was business as usual. Well……there was actually one unexpected pitfall…..
quilting on silk fabric

I couldn’t stop touching it! It took me much longer then it should have, because I kept stopping to feel the texture of the quilted fabric.

For one of the first times in my life, the back of the quilt doesn’t show the quilting near as well as the front!
prince charming fabric quilt back

 

So the moral of this quilting story is: quilting a silky cotton fabric, such as Radiance, is easy….just very, very distracting (but in a good way!)

I love quilting quilts made of  different types of fabric, such as  fleece, voile, and linen. How about you?

Happy Quilting!

Comments

  1. Beautiful!

  2. I too, adore quilting on satin, leather, silk and velvets! Addicting. And very, very, beautiful. Love this quilt and the quilting. Well done!

  3. Very nice, Angela! I’ll have to look for that Radiance fabric.

  4. I absolutely love how you quilted this quilt…that is what drew me to make this quilt for myself. I hope to be able to quilt close to how you quilted Tula’s. Your quilting is outstanding and those raindrops you added are just so awesome. Thanks so much for all the sharing and teaching you do. You truly are an inspiration to many!

  5. I love love love this… seriously. I have quilted on silk recently and found it dreamy to work with as well- best part being how great the quilting shows up on it- it’s like the sheen just brings out the definition in the design. This quilt is 1000% gorgeous both in design and quilting- you two are a dream team!!

  6. So awesome. I love the quilted rain drops. Good call!

  7. Your talent for coming up with “just the right” quilt design for each quilt never fails to amaze me. It’s easy to see the passion you have for what you do. Keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

