Kiss Kiss Quilt times 3!

Usually I have to wait until after Quilt Market to show the quilts that I have been working on…..

But today I get to show a quilt that I just finished up for Tula Pink. It is her Kiss Kiss pattern made with her latest line, Nightshade.

tula pink kiss kiss pattern quilting

Picking out the quilting designs took a little longer than usual. I knew that I wanted to incorporate feathers in it somehow but I just couldn’t figure out how to work them in.

I couldn’t do them in the borders, they wouldn’t show up……the same goes for the black squares. So I knew that I had to work them into the striped blocks.

I finally ended up using the feathers to create a frame to focus fabric in the center square, and I am happy with how it turned out!

longarm quilting feathers

Here’s a close up of the center block.

machine quilting pattern in tula pink quilt

I quilted feathers around the cameo in the center as well……you can’t have too many feathers, can you?

I absolutely love the back of this quilt, and it’s not because you can see the quilting….

nightshade quilt back

Tula prints out custom quilt backs for all the quilts that she makes and this round of quilts each features a cameo from Nightshade…..just gorgeous!

Triple Take?

If this quilt patten looks familiar to you, it’s because I have quilted it several times before.

This one, made with fabric from Parisville, hung in Tula’s booth at Quilt Market in Houston.

Modern quilt longarm quilting

She also made one out of Prince Charming when it came out.

longarm quilting

It was in her booth at the spring Quilt Market in Salt Lake City last year.

How about a close up of the adorable frog in the center?

close up of custom quilting

Even though each of the quilts above are made from the same quilt pattern, the fabric selections make them each so very different. I love to use the fabric to inspire the quilting designs that I pick. The best place to find inspiration is right in front of your face!

 

Happy Quilting!!

 

Comments

  1. wow, the quilting on that adds a whole dimension of fabulous!

  2. Beautiful job! Love, love, love what you have done with Nightshade. I have never been a fan of the Kiss pattern until now. Seeing it in the different fabric lines, I have a new appreciation for it. Thanks for sharing.

  3. omg these are the most beautiful quilts! Love your quilting and her fabrics and piecing! LOVE

  4. Natalie says:

    Absolutely amazing!!

  5. Your quilting is fabulous! Each and every one of those quilts ROCK!

  6. Beautiful, amazing!…thanks for sharing! Always enjoy your posts!

  7. Mary ann says:

    How fun to see them all together Angela, Tula’s fabric is amazing as is your quilting!

  8. Rachel says:

    All three are stunning!! Great job. 🙂

    Cheers!
    Rachel
    http://scrapendipitydesigns.com/blog/?p=1069

Trackbacks

  1. […] have also already blogged about this one, but it was nice to visit it […]

Leave a Reply

