Another Lorax quilt!

I recently blogged about 2 lorax quilts that I quilted, and I just finished up another one.

robert kaufman lorax quilt

Of course this quilt features the Lorax fabric by Robert Kaufman. The quilt pattern was designed by Rachel Griffith and I love how it features the fabrics.

I like to have fun when quilting fabric panels or fabrics such as these.

Sometimes, I will quilt a dense quilting pattern to highlight a a certain part of the fabric. Such as this:

close up machine quilting

or this:

dense longarm quilting
It really helps highlight certain parts of the fabrics

Other times, I will use a less dense quilting design. For this one, I quilted the design all around the character in the center, leaving him unquilted.

longarm quilting design

Or, sometimes I use a gentle back and forth design.

less dense wavy back and forth line

For this one, I echoed the star in the center of this block. Like I have said before, you can’t go wrong when you get inspiration from the fabric!

zig zag quilting lines

I spend too much time quilting to not enjoy the quilting designs that I pick. I like to challenge myself to find different quilting designs for each quilt block. Changing them up keeps it interesting and keeps me from getting too bored.

Today is my daughter’s 7th birthday, so I am off to enjoy special birthday pancakes (our birthday tradition) and Shatto milk, yum!!

Happy Quilting!

Comments

  1. Nancy Crabtree says:

    I love it!

  2. Laura Tawney says:

    Great ideas about the quilting and what a fun quilt! Happy Birthday to your daughter and sounds like a really fun day:)
    LauraT

  3. Heavenly Seven Happy Birthday!

  4. Cute quilt and great quilting. My older son turns 7 next month. Happy Birthday to your not-so-little one!

Leave a Reply

