Zig Zagging Feathers

You know, it’s crunch time around here…..International Quilt Market is barreling down the road  and I am hanging on for sheer life. This is the fourth quilt market that I have quilted for and it gets busier and busier each year. I love every minute of it!! While I am working on more market quilts, let me share something non-market related.

longarm machine quilting feathers

I finished up this quilt awhile ago for Gina. It’s a gorgeous quilt that gave me plenty of room for the quilting, my favorite! Gina was great to let me have my way with her quilt so I opted for feathers that travel along the white zig zags……probably not very shocking to you all! You guys know I have much I love feathers!

negative space quilting

I am always careful to think about contrast between quilting designs. I want to make sure that my hard work shows! So when quilting the feather in the white fabric, I used quilting to echo the outside of the feather. Then to help set off the feather even more, I quilted a very dense back and forth line.

dense quilting around feather

Now if you are just dying to see this quilt in person, you actually can…….without going to Gina’s house. She is opening a fabric store called The Little General the first week of June. According to Gina:

The Little General is a fabric boutique located in Reynolda Village, Winston-Salem, NC. Introduced by Karen Gray Design, (a featured quilt shop in Better Homes And Gardens), The Little General is equally committed to providing space for beauty, inspiration, creative play, happiness and community. Founded on the belief that creativity is invaluable, rewarding and productive, The Little General seeks to share joy in beauty and creation with the community. Join The Little General in changing the world one stitch at a time.

And to make it even better, Tula Pink will be doing a book signing there as well. If you live in the area you should check it out!

Happy Quilting!

Comments

  1. I got to see this quilt in person last Thursday and it’s gorgeous! I’ve admired your work from afar and gasped when Gina told me you had done the quilt. So beautiful.

  2. Danielle D. says:

    Gorgeous choice for the quilting. Do you happen to know what pattern the quilt is made from?

    • Hi Danielle–this is just a traditional log cabin block using only two fabrics and with the blocks all turned wonky! I hope this helps!

  3. I got to see the quilt in person last night at the TMQG. It is fabulous.

  4. I was also lucky enough to see this quilt at our guild meeting. It’s stunning! Gina’s sweet design and your beautiful quilting go together perfectly.

Leave a Reply

