Heather’s Commute Quilt

I have another Quilt Market quilt to share today!  Heather made this quilt using fabric from the Commute line from Birch fabrics and it will be in their booth at quilt market. I begged Heather to let me show it early….and thankfully she let me!

heathers commute fabric

When she gave it to me, she had me some specific requests for the quilting. She wanted the blocks to look like flowers and also wanted me to incorporate words that reflect the “Commute” name of the fabric. I am always, always, always up for something new

I quilted each of the “flowers” different and really tried to go a little wild with them!

longarm quilting

It’s hard to tell in the pictures, but the flowers were quilted with white thread to help them stand out a little. But it didn’t show up as much as I wanted!

custom machine quilting

This one is my favorite! Not your typical flower, but still a lot of fun…..you will see this from me again, I am sure of it!

modern longarm quilting

To quilt the background of the quilt, I quilted the words that she provided in wavy lines that cross the quilt.

quilting words

And a view of the back:

organic birch fabric

If you are going to Quilt Market, be sure to check out their booth to see it in person. These pictures just don’t do the fabric justice!

Happy Quilting!

If you like what you have seen here, follow me on twitter, “like” me on facebook, or check out my book.

Comments

  1. Angela, Do you mark the flower motifs? I’m pretty much just starting out on a longarm and have only done quilts that have an over all design. When I work on a DSM, I can sometimes make up the motifs as I go along and not mark them initially, but these seem complex enough that they’d need to be marked. What do you use?

  2. Mary ann says:

    Love the flowers Angela!

  3. love what you’ve done with the flowers! Thank you so much for sharing

  4. Kristi says:

    This is definitely new inspiration for me. Awesome job!

  5. Angela — the fabric and YOUR quilting is beautiful! and yes… your posts are always an inspiration to me…
    Karen

  6. This is so pretty….love the quilting around the flowers. So wonderful!

  7. Tami Knox says:

    Just lovely, perfect quilting choices. Your favorite is my favorite too!

  8. Thank you so much Angela and Heather, the quilt is beautiful, have yet to see it in person, but I’m stalking the postman:) So pretty!!

  9. I love this quilt and the flowers are stunning!

Leave a Reply

