Creepy Feathers

That’s the theme of today’s quilt…..creepy feathers. When Tula first told me about this line of fabric (way back when it was still just sketches on paper), I suggested that we try to do feathers with spiderwebs in them. It sounded a little dark and unexpected, so I knew that she was right up her alley!  I didn’t have the space for them in the other quilts, so I was glad to finally get the chance to quilt some “creepy feathers”

house of tula pink book quilt

How about a closer look?

longarm quilting feathers

I know I say this about every quilt…..but I had so much fun quilting it!

First, let’s talk about the feathers. I love when a quilting design looks like its going behind the blocks on a quilt, I think it adds depth. Getting the illusion just right was a little tricky, but I think I pulled it off for the most part.

machine quilting feathers

And what about that spider???

quilting spider web patterns

That pesky spider kept making little webs everywhere! I wanted to smash it, but then it spun Tula’s name in the web…….I decided it must be Charlotte (as in charlotte’s web) so I left her alone…….She is one busy spider!

longarm quilting feather

I know I am being silly, but what can I say, I am sleep deprived and slap-happy!

And, again, the custom quilt backing:

tula pink nightshade quilt back

This quilt will be hanging in her booth at quilt market, so make sure to stop by and check it out!

That’s it for now! I have to get to planning a birthday party. We are having my daughter’s birthday party tomorrow ( I tried to have it after quilt market, but she wasn’t buying it!).  The theme of the party is is ‘last minute party’. To make it as authentic as possible, I have waited until the last minute…….sigh!

Happy Quilting!

Comments

  1. This is truly absolutely AMAZING!!! You have such a creative mind to come up with these designs!! That feathering is perfect … and those spiderwebs fascinating … the ‘tula’ spelled in the web – divine!! Lol! Can you tell I love this quilting?!!!

  2. You have really outdone yourself this time! Beyond fabulous!!

  3. I can’t stop looking at the quilting on this one – it’s amazing! Seriously spectacular. Wow.

  4. Spiderwebs? Seriously?! So incredibly awesome and perfect for that quilt! You just keep coming up with such great designs and match them perfectly with the quilt in front of you.

  5. Just love it…your talent is outstanding!

  6. I’m loving the creepy feathers! You are a fantastic quilter, but your creative touches are what make these quilts so awesome.

  7. Longarmlinda says:

    LOVE IT!!!!! SOOooo fun & hip! You really nailed the quilting perfect for this fabric,,, looking at your stuff has me so inspired to do the “out of the box” stuff, & for sure I am going to get a stack of this fabric, it’s a ton of fun! I am sure your daughters birthday party will be a huge hit, put your super Mom cape on & go girl go! =) Linda Alexander

  8. Totally inspired quilting! Hats off to you….

  9. Mary ann says:

    So over the top Angela in the bestest way!

  10. Angela this is so awesome, your are so talented!

  11. Kathyl Jogerst says:

    That is to die for! Amazing amazing amazing…..but only a tiny bit creepy!

  12. I love it! So awesome.

  13. Beautiful! Love the spider webs among the feathers. Really suits this fabric. Wish I could see the whole thing.
    Happy birthday to your little one.

  14. Beautiful. I love the quilting on this. The spider webs and spider was a wonderful idea. It looks really good. Tell your daughter Happy Birthday.

  15. The way you do depth is ingredable. I the whole thing is awesome but the feather in the photo look like a slithering snake

  16. jdmurray2000 says:

    I love how dimensional the quilt looks. When you are doing multiple different designs on a quilt do you complete each section individually as you come across the section or all the same sections at one time? Hope this made sense.

    • Thanks! I loaded the quilt sideways and then just quilted it as I came to it. Does that make sense?? For example, I didn’t quilt all the feathers and then go back to do the rest, Let me know if that helps!!!

  17. My new favorite…. you and Tula are like Peanut butter and Jelly- this rocks on so many levels… wish I could see it in person.

  18. So awesome. I really want to get a hold of that fabric line. I’m a huge fan of Halloween and macabre type things. This is right up my alley!

  19. There’s some playful quilting going on here. Lots of interesting activity quilted in.

  20. Awesome and inspiring; detailed and interesting….perfect!

  21. my mind is boggled. that is amazing!!!

Trackbacks

  1. […] blogged about this quilt earlier. When I was quilting it, it was just for fun….a little inside joke […]

Leave a Reply

