Kona Modern Quilts

Happy Saturday everyone!! I am sure you have a busy holiday weekend ahead of you, so I appreciate you stopping in today. Today’s quilt is brought to you courtesy of the Robert Kaufman fabric company.

modern quilt made with kona modern quilts fabric

When I am quilting a quilt with a lot of little pieces and colors, I try to find some kind of reoccurring element within the quilt.  If I can find it, I always quilt it the same. I like to say it’s like the verse of a song, it adds some repetitiveness to the quilt. Around each center pieced block is a border, so I picked two designs (back and forth lines and squares) and alternated between the two.

modern quilting

Even though the “borders” are different colors, I quilted them the same.

robert kaufman fabric quilt

Another thing that I like to do when quilting busy quilts, is to highlight random pieces within the block. Quilting each little piece differently might overwhelm the quilt.

quilting busy quilts

I quilted a swirl all over except for a few random pieces. Just to add a bit of detail…..

dense modern quilting

I think it adds a custom touch to the quilt without overwhelming it!

This quilt was fun to quilt, but it isn’t exactly what it seems to be…..it was made using Kona Modern Quilts fabric from Robert Kaufman. This fabric line is kinda like a modern quilt cheater cloth….and I love it!!!! If you look back up at the quilt at the top, the blocks surrounded in white are pieced block. But the rest of the pieced sections are large pieces of the fabric.

In the picture below, the left side is the cheater cloth and the right side is actually pieced.

kona modern quilts fabric

I think it’s kinda hard to tell the difference!  When I am quilting for the awesome people at Robert Kaufman, I know that the most important thing about the quilt is the fabric. I want to make sure the quilting helps sell the fabric. To make that happen in this quilt, I quilted all of the blocks the using the same techniques….whether they were pieced or the “cheater” fabric. When the quilt is viewed in person, it is hard to tell which is which.

On a completely different topic, I am having a giveaway on my Facebook page. I have decided that my quilt studio is beyond help, so I am giving away a copy of the book, Organizing Solutions for Every Quilter. Head over there and leave a comment on the picture of the book telling me about your studio…..you never know, you just might be the lucky winner!

Happy Quilting!

Comments

  1. Gorgeous quilting! Love the idea of doing something different for one of the pieces .. really adds interest.

  2. You are so inspiring ! You do beautiful work!

  3. I love when you give us insight into the decision making process of quilting design. Thanks so much for sharing with us.
    Ramona

  4. the whole time I was piecing that, I was wondering just how you’d quilt it…lovely, as always!

Leave a Reply

