Dot to Dot Quilting~A How-To

First off, I hope that everyone has a great holiday today. We  are having a big ol family get together, but we will also be remembering Grandpa, a veteran. We will also be giving thanks that we are free due to the sacrifice of so many.

Ok, back to quilting……Today’s quilt is one that I quilted for Robert Kaufman’s quilt market booth, and it’s a perfect example of dot to dot quilting

quilting without marking

Robert Kaufman quilt

When I am quilting any quilt, I try very, very hard to avoid marking. Not only does it take time to mark it, it takes time to remove it as well. And there is nothing more frustrating than marking a quilt and still missing my mark!  So when I can, I like to use the actual block as my guide. Here is a diagram of how I quilted the design in the gray diamonds.

dot to dot quilting

Here’s how I quilted this design:

Step 1: Starting from one of the corners of the diamond, quilt a straight line that stops approximately 1″ inside the next corner of the diamond. I don’t mark the exact point, I just eyeball it and go for it!

Step 2. Pivot and quilt a line that actually touches the opposite corner than the starting point.

Step 3: Quilt another straight line that ends 1″ inside the next corner.

Step 4: Continue quilting until you end at the starting point.

Step 5 (optional): If you wanted you could leave the inner diamond unquilted, but in this example, I quilted a figure 8 design from the starting point to the opposite corner.

This quilting is fast and easy and I think you will find that even if you don’t mark the points, it will be close enough!  Use this design in diamonds or squares  to add a custom look to your quilt without taking much longer than other designs!

The rest of the quilt:

In the border, I quilted a feather……Just love to quilt those feathers!

feather quilting

A shot of the back…..the waves on the fabric and the curves of the quilting really made a trippy illusion. It made the fabric look like it was moving!

Back of quilt

What do you think? Is this a design that you could see yourself using on future quilts?? I sure hope so! I’ll be back with more Quilt Market recaps this week!

Happy Quilting

Comments

  1. Anonymous says:

    II’ve been practising figure 8’s and loops, so yeah – I can totally see me doing this on a quilt. 🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    Very nice. Love it

  3. Anonymous says:

    Beautiful quilting and I love this pattern!!! For all our loved ones that served the USA -http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3KGHhEJdfFM&feature=share

  4. #3 was me, Jude-had problem posting with wordpress. ?

  5. Will definitely be using this design. Saw something along this line recently and loved it. Thanks for the great tips.

  6. Wow Angela!! This looks amazing!!! I love that it sounds so darn simple too – and for the effect, well worth trying in an appropriate quilt design!! I will DEFINITELY be trying this one day in the near future … now to find the PERFECT quilt design, lol!! Thanks for the inspiration!! 🙂

  7. Thanks for this great tutorial Angela! Love the effect…

  8. Debbie Stanton says:

    You’re an inspiration! Thank you!

  9. Anonymous says:

    Fast, fun & beautiful,, what’s not to love?! =)

  10. Got to love Ribbon Candy and feathers. I love this quilt Angela, you made it sing!

  11. Linda Alexander says:

    above was me, guess I wasn’t logged in,,, =)

  12. Beautiful Angela. Thanks for sharing your insights.

    SewCalGal
    http://www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com

  13. Thanks so much for sharing this! I love it and it is something I could do on my machine.

  14. Susan Stitch says:

    This is perfect for a batik and black quilt I’m working on right now — I had no idea what I was going to do. Thank you so much for sharing your ideas and techniques.

  15. As a new ( and very frustrated) longarm quilter I am so excited to find you. I can’t wait to get your new book in the mail. You are a very special and talented woman and I really appreciate your expertise. Thank you!

  16. Anonymous says:

    Thank-you for sharing:)
    Tj

  17. I love this, and I definitely think I’ll have to give it a try! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

