My Project Modern Entry

When I heard about Project Modern, I decided to take the plunge and enter. This is the first time in a long time that I made a quilt for me…..all me!!

Having a deadline kept me on track and I can’t believe that I actually finished it!

My inspiration for this quilt was spilling paint.

The top of the quilt is like the paint colors pouring in and getting ready to be mixed. The blue and green ribbons swirl around, mixing them and releasing the paint colors which spill over and around each other.

Quilting it was just as much fun as making the quilt top. I quilted each color with designs that helped emphasize the movement down the quilt. I had a lot of fun trying out different techniques.

I quilted pebbles in the background with matching thread. I made them smaller at the top and larger at the bottom.

I even had fun binding it (for the first time ever!). I made parts of the binding match some of the stripes of color. I wanted it to look like the “paint” was flowing over the edge. It took a little longer, but it turned out exactly like I wanted!

And, of course, some photos of the back…..my favorite!

This is the first “modern” quilt that I have made. It is also the first time that I used solids in a quilt, let alone make it out of only solids. I enjoyed every part of making this quilt!

Thanks for looking!

Comments

  1. Kelly Harris says:

    You know I love this one! Awesome work!!

  2. So beautiful! I love how all the paint colors have a different quilting design.

  3. Stunningly beautiful. 🙂 I just love it.

  4. This is so beautiful! What wonderful work!

  5. Angela, this quilt is beautiful! The quilting is fantastic….good luck. You modern quilting is wonderful!

  6. This is just gorgeous and I love the inspiration. The quilting definitely provides the flowing movement. Amazing!

  7. Awesome!

  8. This is just amazing Angela – WOW!

  9. LOVE IT!!! Can’t wait to see it in person!

  10. Becky Potts Baker says:

    I love this quilt! Beautiful use of colors and quilting!

  11. Well done! The design and colors are amazing, and the quilting adds incredible texture and movement. It really is stunning!

  12. Great work, Angela! I love how you were able to interpret your inspiration in such a modern way.

  13. I love your quilt! Starting with the light color on the top and increasing the pebble size creates such a sense of depth. Wonderful quilting, too!

  14. that. is. incredible!!!

    you continue to amaze me with your talent. brava! 🙂

  15. amazing!! not that i’d expect anything less from you!

  16. Wow, what a stunning quilt. I love the look and really love the actual quilting.

  17. Woah! That is so cool!! I love how all the colors and lines are mixed and flowing together on the bottom and the quilting is just so AWESOME!! I love how you use quilting as another layer. A chance to add texture and movement. These are solids people!

  18. Wow. Just wow. It’s beautiful!

  19. That is such a fantastic quilt. You did an amazing job! I really love how you varied the size of the quilted pebbles. Beautiful!!!

  20. Such amazing work! It’s absolutely gorgeous.

  21. Laura Tawney says:

    A wonderful piece of art! I love the colors and the feeling it conveys. The binding is especially great! It’s a wonderful feeling when it all comes together:)
    LauraT

Trackbacks

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by jenni20 designs, Angela Walters. Angela Walters said: Project Modern http://quiltingismytherapy.com/2010/12/01/my-project-modern-entry/ […]

  2. […] my Project Modern quilt which I have blogged about here. I was excited when Gammill offered me the opportunity to submit some of my quilts, and even more […]

  3. […] Also, if you are in the Kansas City area, you should stop in at the KC Modern Quilt Guild meeting tomorrow night. Machine Quilting Unlimited has given me 100 (!) copies of their sample magazine to hand out! It includes the article I wrote, “Machine Quilting For the Modern Quilt” and the ad on the back features my Project Modern challenge quilt! […]

  4. […] never gets old seeing my Project Modern quilt in their […]

Leave a comment